We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very limited choice, long wait for 'premade' food”
Review of Avon Causeway Inn

Avon Causeway Inn
Ranked #37 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very limited choice, long wait for 'premade' food”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have visited the pub regularly for a long time and were known regulars to the brilliant staff there, however on our last visit we were disappointed to find the menu had shrunk a lot with only one vegetarian option. We had been warned on arrival that, despite there only being 5 tables in, there would be a half an hour wait for food. As we went to order we asked if there was any chance they could alter the veggie option due to an allergy and they said no it was premade. Walked away from till having ordered no food with no suggestions from manager in anyway to help so sat and waited to watch others eat, 5 minutes later I saw him take a jacket potato to another table... Our food finally arrived after an hours wait with no apology.
Definitely wont be going back if its an hours wait for premade food in a half empty restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katyyy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    23
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have eaten bar meals here before, but today we decided to visit for a proper meal in the dining room. We decided on three carveries (one of which was vegetarian), and one roast partridge (a special). Service was efficient; food was very good; drinks excellent (particularly the two pints of Wadworth's), and good value. A refreshing, more relaxed alternative to similarly priced carveries at local establishments that only serve such meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saffronsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing lunch”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Not been to the Causeway for a number of years so thought we would give it a try. Regret I was very disappointed, the menu choice was very limited for a Sunday, the service was poor we were just plonked at a table and left to work out how the system of ordering worked. Actually it didn't, food arrived at wide intervals there were 5 of us, the first 2 nearly finished by the time the last 2 arrived. The quality was not good enough and had clearly been standing for some time as surface was dry. We will not be going again, they must do better! So much better not so far away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandVtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Priced to high”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Although we have eaten here for may years , we now find there compared to other restaurants in the same area the prices here are very high, e.g 2 sausages and bubble and squeak, nothing else on plate £ 7.95 ouch !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A secluded place.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This inn is off the main roads and is an ideal place to get away from the rush. Having been here on a number of occasions we have never been disappointed. The menu is changed regularly, and the food is always freshly cooked to order. The staff are always pleasant and there are not long waits for food after you have made your order, go an enjoy....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avon Causeway Inn also viewed

 
Ringwood, New Forest
Ringwood, New Forest
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Sopley, Hampshire
 

Been to Avon Causeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing