We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chippenham on the up!”
Review of The Gladstone Arms

The Gladstone Arms
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar/Restaurant with beautiful secluded beer garden in the centre of Chippenham serving lunches and evening meals. Award winning Sunday lunch
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chippenham on the up!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

at last Starting to see some culinary improvements in restaurants, although is the Gladstone Arms a bit of an anigma, is it a pub or high class restaurant...both possble,

I never fancied going there for a drink, but have heard lots of good reviews in the last year or so on the food, My partner and I went a few mondays ago!

Wow! amazing food, the staff are very friendly and your never left wondering where they are if you need anything, the food was just so nice, we shared a fish platter to start which was so tasty, and i have lamb for the main meal! it was like eating medium rare steak, cooked just how i liked it,

would definetely go again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1050DaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    132
    29
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favourite pub in Wiltshire”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure how many compliments I can give to this place. Best Sunday lunch in the area with sensational Yorkshire puds. Thai food on offer is authentic and delicious, I actually prefer the Thai green curry here to my local Thai restaurant. The burger with pulled pork is an epic dining experience which will leave any hungry diner satisfied.....all of this is accompanied by the friendly service offered by Leighton, the owner

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As always a first class meal with excellent service and at an amazing price. A 'must go' place for us every month.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaterfixRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Welcome surprise”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Unimposing front of this pub off the main square (go towards The Bear and turn right).
Surprisingly enterprising menu. My mate and I were in the mood for a light lunch, so shared 3 starters. Four GIGANTIC Tempura prawns with chilli jam had a very correct thin and crisp batter - faultless. We followed by each having the Belly Pork, Scallops, Black Pudding, Squash Purée. Nicely done piece of pork complemented by the other ingredients. An excellent Cornish bitter washed it down well. Surprised and well satisfied. Good luck to a young chef who tries hard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sunday lunch”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We moved to Chippenham less than a year ago but have had the pleasure of eating at the Gladstone a number of times now. The sunday lunches are so good we keep going back!

Our most recent trip was a couple of weeks ago. My husband, mother in law and I visited, and again was really impressed with the place. 2 of us got a small sunday lunch and it was easily the same size as what I'd expect for a normal lunch but for only £7 (i think! it could have been £9) it was excellent value for money and so so tasty!

Will definitely be back again when we can't face cooking our own roast :-)

Only issue I've found is trying to get a table mid week, every time we've tried (albeit theyve all been last minute bookings) we've been unable to get in. Shows how popular the place is though!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gladstone Arms also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 
Yatton Keynell, Chippenham
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Gladstone Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing