We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, welcoming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Box Guest House

Red Box Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chippenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Box Guest House
Ranked #7 of 31 Chippenham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent, welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a great place to stay for both short and longer breaks. I've been staying a couple of nights a week for the last month or so as I was working in the area. Julie-ann is a welcoming host, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfast, delicious!

Will definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    32
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
37
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Having never stayed at a B&B before & booking from New Zealand I was unsure of what to expect but I was not dissapointed...Faultless..Room was modern,very clean & cosy..Julie-Ann was friendly,accomodating & very helpful,so much so I extended my stay from 3 weeks to over 4 weeks & when I left it was like leaving home...If you are looking for somwhere to stay in Chippenham / Wiltshire for whatever reason you cant go wrong with the Red Box Guest House..Thank you Julie-Ann I will be back next year..Cheers Chris

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in October 2012. It's an excellent base for visiting Lacock,Avebury, Castle Combe and many other places of interest. Julie-ann was a font of knowledge about the local area as well as being very helpful and accommodating. Room very clean and comfortable and breakfast excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the Red Box.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 616275Jenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My sister and me stayed 4 nights at Red Box Guest House in the middle of September 2012. It´s a perfect starting point for excursions to Bath, Stonehenge, Avebury and the Cotswolds.

The proprietor Julie-ann made our vacation unforgettable: We had a quiet, tastefully furnished and modern double room with a view over her nice garden with a walk-in cupboard. The room was perfectly equipped with an electric kettle, coffee, tea, bath robes, free Wi-Fi, TV, an adaptor plug (!) and a lot of towels. The shared bathroom and an extra guest restroom offered shower gel, shampoo and hand lotion. Everything was perfectly clean!

The breakfast was delicious: every morning we could choose from the menu a wide choice of tasty dishes. Full English, cereals, toast with different spreads and if desired a continental or vegetarian breakfast too. Of course we had every morning eggs from Julie-ann´s hens and the delicate local bacon! ;-)

Exploring the area around was very easy: only a two-minutes walk to the bus station (Chippenham and Bath) and perhaps 5 minutes to walk to next supermarket, pub and cash machine. Plenty of information available on places to visit in the area and great individual tips from Julie-ann.

Our hired car parked safely off-street in front of the house and we had a very special service: we are not used to drive on the left side with the wheel on "the wrong side" and parking was nearly impossible for us... No problem, Julie-ann turned around the car and parked it every evening that leaving next morning was very comfortable :-)

I highly recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone! We had a wonderful holiday in Wiltshire and will come back. Thank you, Julie-ann - I really felt at home!
All the best from Germany, Steffi

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Faultless. Very clean and comfortable. Owner very nice. House was very nicely decorated and room was very good with everything at hand.I would recommend a visit its good value and will be returning when in the area again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Our Grandaughter booked us the Red Box Guest House so we could come to Chippenham and spend the weekend with her. Not only did we have a fanstatic weekend but our stay at the B&B was excellent. The proprietor, Julie-Ann is a very warm and welcoming person and cannot do enough for you. The room was spotless, very comfortable bed, loads of wardrobe space and provided all the extras including tea, coffee, water etc which was a pleasant surprise. There were even his and her dressing gowns. She had a vast breakfast menu which we can only say was gorgeous. (Fresh eggs from her well kept chickens every morning) Perfect location, perfect accomodation and perfect hospitality. Highly recommened.
Ros and Nick

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

An extremely warm and welcoming B&B. The proprietor makes you feel totally at ease and goes out of her way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is very tasty with home produced eggs being used. Julie-ann is very friendly and helpful. My daughter will be using this B&B again in a few days time - what better recommendation could there be?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
4.1 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diana Lodge B And B
Diana Lodge B And B
#21 of 31 in Chippenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Road Garden Annex
London Road Garden Annex
#3 of 31 in Chippenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Box Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Box Guest House

Property: Red Box Guest House
Address: 35 Buckingham Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Box Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you. The house is a modern Bradstone home positioned in a quiet cul-de-sac. There is off road parking and a wonderfully restored 1936 red telephone box on the drive. There is easy access to the M4, Bath, Bristol and Swindon. The house is centrally heated throughout and has two newly decorated guest bedrooms. We serve a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options and also cater for vegetarians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Box Guest House Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing