We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chippenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Road Guest House
Ranked #4 of 28 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming B&B”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Sue welcomed me with her friendly smile and showed me to my usual room in the Cottage, a very comfortable single room with a wash basin and tea making facilities. The bathroom is shared with the guests of two other rooms in the Cottage. The excellent full English breakfasts were served by Sue's husband Lawrie with his customary friendly patter and, yes, Sue had remembered that I like English mustard and Lawrie proudly presented me with a new jar. Before I left I booked in for next year. I would not stay anywhere else in Chippenham

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
17
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed in many B&B's during my career and this is one of those that ticks all of my boxes. I dont normally leave reviews but, I enjoyed my stay that much I feel it is the least I can do in return for the friendly service and a comfortable bed. There was a great selection at breakfast, although I only took advantage of the cooked variety which was clean and had well sourced ingredients. If i work in Chippenham again I know where I will be asking my manager to book.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Easy to book and pay online.
Warm welcome and room ready. Free wifi and tea/coffee in room. Back door with access code so I could come and go as U pleased. Comfortable bed and modern TV. En-suite has electric shower. Breakfast provided a massive range of cereals, toast and cooked plus fruit juices. Will definitely be going back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SexyEag1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Mr and Mrs Abercrombie were the hosts with the most!!! A very clean, comfortable, friendly and warm guesthouse. We were made to feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay very friendly lovely and warm after being out in the cold all day. We went there to go to bath christmas market, what a perfect location the train station is just two minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mclrmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome, room 1.. Twin with en-suite. Tea/coffee. Quilt on the the bed was very thin, summer quilt I would think,didn't matter as the heating was on all night so nice and cozy. The en-suite is bijou to say the least, the shower(no bath) had plenty of power but the water was coming out of everywhere apart from where it was supposed to, new shower head a must. towels in the room have seen better days, The cooked breakfast was nice (wouldn't bother with the sausage next time, no taste) plenty of cereals to chose from, plenty of parking, would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Smashing place to lay your head in Chippenham - New Road Guest House is great value for money; the breakfast was hearty and very welcome after a great night's sleep in comfy, well equipped rooms. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRGH-Chippenham, Owner at New Road Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I know my husband and mother in law enjoyed meeting you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
3.5 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Road Guest House

Property: New Road Guest House
Address: 31 New Road, Chippenham SN15 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1877, New Road House is a Grade II listed, double fronted Victorian Villa with 10 letting rooms. Five are in the main house and five in the detached Coach House at the rear of the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Road Guest House Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing