We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant staff, tired environment”

The Peterborough Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chippenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peterborough Arms
Ranked #24 of 31 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were warmly welcomed and shown to a spacious room on the first floor, which was well furnished. The fronts of the drawers on both bedside cabinets came off in our hands.
The curtain rails on some of windows weren't firmly fixed to the wall, and the bottom of one of windows was dropping off and held about 5mm too low, with a couple of metal brackets, so there was a gap below the glass.
TV had an excellent picture.
The food was OK, but not as good as others have rated it. Again the decor was a bit tired.
Outside, the play area was over grown, and grass was growing up elsewhere round the grounds.

The pub is near a filled-in canal and the lock is empty, so don't assume you are by an active canal

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

This pub is a little out of the way but well worth finding. I chose it because it had good reviews and it lived up to what I hoped for. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. In fact I felt I was treated more like one of the family. Bramble (their field spaniel) that the hosts rescued after he was abandoned is equally friendly and welcoming and sits near the bar. Some people are put off staying in a pub because they think it might be noisy. This is not the case here, most of the clientele seem to be regulars (local cricket club, etc) or local residents. In any case this is what would be called a traditional pub with, thankfully (for me), no huge t.v. screen or loud music. I stayed two nights and had dinner each night. Very nice food, somewhere between good gastro pub and fine dining. The pub stocks a range of real ales too. Breakfast was good and very substantial. In fact on the second morning I had to ask for a smaller version. The accommodation I had was spacious set out in a self contained arrangement whereby my door opened into a hallway and corridor with the large bedroom and separate bathroom opening out from it. All in all, this is a very homely pub, totally unpretentious and where I felt totally at ease very quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitorRobinGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We came for an overnight stay to meet friends and wished we could stay much longer! We were made to feel extremely welcome. The rooms were really spacious and spotless. Beer very good, food was fantastic. We had a 3 course meal from a great menu and the vegetarian in the group was spoilt for choice for a change! [If you are vegetarian my top tip would be to have the nutroast - best I have ever had.] Everything was so fresh and homemade - just wish we were locals, we would be in there every night!! Breakfast in the morning was generous and delicious. Come here if you can.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchellsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for one night on route from London to Cardiff and were given a wonderfully warm welcome from the barlady who showed us to our room (the Kingfisher), which was huge! It was beautifully decorated, under the eaves although with plenty of headroom, and had a leather sofa and TV - which would be great if you were staying for longer. The food in the evening was fantastic - Trevor's a really good cook and sources quality ingredients. We particularly recommend the pate as a starter, and his homecooked ribs. We had a lovely evening with real ale and friendly locals. Breakfast the next day was equally high quality, and the coffee delicious.

Contrary to the review below, the landlords have changed their plans, and are now staying for the foreseeable future. They are the perfect hosts - getting the balance just right between providing attentive service and also leaving you in peace. The Peterborough Arms makes a great stop off from the M4 or would be a friendly place to stay and explore the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. We would thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennys_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We were looking for a crash pad for a week whilst house hunting in the Chippenham area and came across The Peterborough Arms on the internet. What a find !!
The couple who own and run the pub are fantastic as was the girl serving behind the bar and the locals who were more than happy to have a chat over a pint in the evening. We were advised when booking that the room (we booked the 'Family' room) is a little tired but for us it was brilliant. Apparently all of the guest rooms are being renovated over time so this one will also have a lick of paint. It was very spacious with more than enough room for a large double and two singles. Not to mention two additional seating areas and the en-suite. We had all the space we needed and more......Next FOOD....even if you don't stay at the P Arms, please drop in for a bite to eat. The food is fantastic and cooked fresh on the premesis, we were really surprised by the quality and diversity of the menu with no request being too much trouble - even at 7:30 am when we were having breakfast. My youngest daughter still raves about her 'extra sausage'
All in all, great pub, great room, great food, very welcoming staff and a great pint of real beer. When our house move to Wiltshire finally goes through I'll be popping back to the P Arms for a pint or two and a very decent meal.
Oh .... I nearly forgot the pub dog...Bramble....give him a pat (just don't feed him!!!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fathammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

A warm greeting and great food make this a wonderful place to stop and rest. The ales are extremely well kept too. The rooms are clean and spacious, but not new or modern so don't expect that. We only regret we only had one night to stay at the Peterborough, we'll be back anytime we can!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrisonerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed the night whilst visiting friends and what a B+B , we were made welcome by Trevor and Linda, the room was huge , the food was absolutely Brilliant, and i loved their LAGER. We will definitely recommend this B+B and we will be staing there again when we visit our friends .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambulanceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chippenham hotels
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
3.2 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
123 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
397 reviews
6.4 mi away
Diana Lodge B And B
Diana Lodge B And B
#20 of 31 in Chippenham
67 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ham House B & B
Ham House B & B
#21 of 31 in Chippenham
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peterborough Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peterborough Arms

Address: Dauntsey Lock, Chippenham, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peterborough Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peterborough Arms Country Inn & Restaurant is a Wadworth public house operated by tenants Linda and Trevor Money. Formerly a professional couple, Linda and Trevor have successfully operated both public and private businesses. Their passion for affordable high quality is the main asset of the Peterborough and this is underpinned by the excellent real ales, wines and beautiful food on offer. Friendly, unassuming and consistent are words that describe the Peterborough experience and atmosphere and all are welcome - families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Peterborough Arms Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing