We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!”
Review of The Manor Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor Farm
Ranked #6 of 31 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After visiting high grove during the day we could not of rounded of the evening in a more relaxed and homely setting! We were made to feel extremely welcome and with a roaring fire and a cup of tea that we enjoyed alongside the company of Hector the dog and the very charming cat. The breakfast was lovely and the rooms were beautiful and we loved the country landscape that we woke up to! We could not of asked for a more lovely stay! We would love to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriefergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Manor Farm for 3 nights and we just have nothing but praise for this beautiful B&B farm. We have an 18-month old boy who also loved it! It was perfect for a family country getaway, but the intimate atmosphere of it made it obvious that it would be just as perfect for couples. Victoria was such a lovely host and gave us a real English country experience which is going to be hard to top, from coffee in the drawing room on arrival, making dinner reservations for us at her recommended restaurants (which were all fantastic), to giving us some fresh farm eggs to take home with us!
Our room had a large en suite and was spacious, finished with personal touches and an extremely comfortable bed (with electric blankets)! Victoria provided a baby cot on request as well as a booster chair at breakfast. She also had her grandchildren staying that weekend which was just perfect for our son who could have a little company of his own age! Brilliant!
We loved walking around the farm in the mornings and saying hello to all the animals - we even got to see a new-born calf! Breakfast was most delicious as was the coffee.
There is nothing negative I can write about this place and I personally have stayed in many B&Bs (albeit not in the UK) as well as many hotels. My husband and I are lucky enough to be well-travelled and thus we are quite critical in the service and standard of a place we stay at as, like everyone else, we like to make sure our money, and most importantly our precious time, is not wasted. But I can go on praising Manor Farm because we really did have such a wonderful experience which was an absolute value for money!
We will keep recommending Manor Farm and Victoria and will certainly make the trip back again! What a treat!! Please take a look at the pictures I took with my phone camera.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I recently stayed at this lovely farmhouse B&B. Everything about my stay was excellent, from Victoria's welcoming cups of tea and cake in the guest lounge to the warm and well furnished bedrooms and very generous breakfasts. This is one of the best B&Bs I have ever visited and I shall recommend it to anyone I know who is visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ap2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Manor Farm is a charming and quintessentially British Farmhouse B&B that delivers peaceful accommodation in the heart of the Cotswolds. We booked a two night stay at this B&B for a wedding anniversary getaway and could not have been happier. We stayed in the Courtyard room which is large and bright with a well equipped en-suite. It had a lovely kingsize bed complete with electric blanket which was much appreciated on a cold winter night! Our host,Victoria could not have been more friendly and helpful, from the cup of tea by the fireplace when we arrived on a wet & windy Friday night to the yummy English breakfast of quality locally produced bacon, eggs and sausages served up on both mornings we were there. Nothing was too much trouble - even booking a table at a local pub for our evening meal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manor Farm and will certainly be visiting again as well as recommending Victoria and her hospitality to family and friends.

Room Tip: The courtyard room has a well equipped ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonydlee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My family and I have just returned from a most enjoyable weekend at The Manor Farm. We stayed for two nights for our daughters wedding in early January. Victoria and Jeffrey made us so welcome and our rooms were very comfortable and lovely and warm. We had electric blankets our beds which were much appreciated!
Our breakfast was delicious and we loved their cat and dogs.
We would recommend a visit without hesitation.















Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked this B & B after reading the excellent trip advisor reviews, and I have to say we were not disappointed, in fact it exceeded our expectations. We were very warmly welcomed by Victoria who always went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay was perfect. Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious with a view to die for. There were so many little extras from the delicious home made cake and tea/coffee upon our arrival, to the biscuits and toffees in our room each day. Breakfast consisted of everything you could imagine and was locally produced which ensured the freshness. Victoria happily provided us with a map which highlighted the most beautiful and interesting places to visit, which we found very useful being tourists unfamiliar with the country. After touring all day it was lovely to come home to the peace and tranquility of such a beautiful farm. The location is so handy to many towns in the Cotswolds. I loved walking around the property and visiting all the animals, and my husband ofcourse was interested in all the farm equipment. It was almost as if Victoria could read our minds as to what we needed. I have to say that this is the best B & B we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many throughout the UK. I'm sure I have left out many wonderful praises for the Manor Farm and the only disappointment was having to leave after 4 nights. A huge thankyou Victoria and if we ever make it back to the UK you are first on our list to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We planned our 2 day trip from London to Bibury, Castle Combe, Stonehenge and West Lulworth last minute and were very lucky to get overnight accommodation (a double and a twin room) at Manor Farm in Alderton. The hosts - Victoria and Jeffrey - were extremely welcoming and friendly, showing us the house and cooking a terrific breakfast the next morning. The house was very cosy and bright inside, with comfortable beds and subtle touches to make the ambience unforgettable. Victoria booked us a dinner at Rattlebone Inn which was a great choice only 1.5 miles away and would definitely recommend to anyone else. Overall our family was extremely happy with the choice and would definitely come back if we were travelling anywhere in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VytasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
4.5 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
389 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.4 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
830 reviews
8.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Farm

Address: Manor Farm The Street | Alderton, Chippenham SN14 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Farm is a beautiful 17th century Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast accommodation situated in Alderton, Chippenham and takes pride in the superior levels of hospitality in this relaxed welcoming setting. The farm is well-placed for exploring the many attractions of the South Cotswolds countryside as well as the elegant Regency city of Bath. Malmesbury, Tetbury, Chippenham, Castle Combe and Westonbirt are all within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Farm Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing