We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel and were pleasantly surprised to find The Angel on Lastminute.com offering an incredibly good room only deal. The hotel has the old building facing on to the market square, but when you walk through the garden, past the swimming pool, you get into the new part (where we stayed) and beyond that is a large private car park. We were warned by letter that there was no food being served on the Friday evening (a very nice touch). The room was modern and roomy, though the twin beds need a better quality of mattress as the ones currently supplied are not very supportive. There was working internet in the room. The bathroom had a heated mirror which meant that it did not steam up - something I will have to research for home! The room was quiet. The bar was open and served my favourite malt whisky. In all a very pleasant and relaxing stay. We did not use the pool and breakfast was not included in our deal, though the latter looked good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Moodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend stay. Can't fault anything. Our room and en-suite was comfortable and absolutely spotlessly clean. TV and free Wifi. Hotel has plenty of parking, a swimming pool and pleasant courtyard. Food pretty good, staff friendly, professional and prompt. Will definitely make a return visit to this hotel to explore more of this lovely area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Martine2538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this weekend as a surprise for my 60 birthday The hotel arranged flowers and chocolates in the room for our arrival ( thankyou Tracy ) the room was fabulous and spacious we had room service one night and it was fast and efficient even tnough they were extremely busy The food itself well presented and lovely Well done to the staff for their attention to detail thankyou we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberystwyth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Choose this hotel for its central location in Chippenham which gave it easy access to Bath with the train station only a few minutes walk away. It turned out to be the perfect place to stay! Cosy lounge, excellent food, including mince pies to die for, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, need I go on! For what we had, the price was exceptional value. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, accommodating us for dinner even though they had a major Christmas function that evening. We didn't have the chance to try the pool but we hope to come back!

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the extension so well away from the noise of the Christmas parties in the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneGMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Angel Hotel. I was only there for one night but wish it had been longer. There appear to be good facilities but I did not have time to use them. I would have liked a swim in that pool. I came for a meeting. I will come back with my husband sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly staff & lovely breakfast - very enjoyable & relaxed Ideally situated for all local attractions - great public transport links to Bath, Bristol, etc.. Easy access to M4/M5 with reasonable parking facilities on site.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I rarely give 5 star reviews, however the quality of the staff and my experience in general warrants such an accolade.

We arrived just after 2130 hrs to a warm welcome. Although the restaurant had officially stopped taking orders, they very kindly allowed us a few extra minutes to make up our minds. We had a special offer menu, two rib eye steaks and a bottle of red for £22, which offers excellent value. Service was efficient and very friendly.

Our room was perfectly adequate for the price paid, and offered all the usual amenities. The cooked breakfast the following morning was freshly prepared to order (no dried out bacon and eggs under hot lamps here), and large in size. Again, the service was rapid and amenable.

Alas, the purpose of our visit was to attend my grandmother's funeral, and her wake was held in the upstairs Bowood room. This event was handled with great sensitivity and attention to detail by the hotel staff and assisted in making what can sometimes be a dour affair into a lively and sociable lunch. The gentleman in charge of the catering in particular was very attentive.

To conclude, The Angel offers a perfect example of how a hotel doesn't need to have 5 stars on its front door to offer 5 star service, thanks to the excellent staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
389 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
122 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
739 reviews
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
612 reviews
15.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Angel Hotel

Address: Market Place, Chippenham SN15 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range: £72 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chippenham
Chippenham Best Western
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing