We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“David P”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“David P”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Had always wanted to overnight here - the food is quite good - but this was a tad disappointing. Small swimming pool out the back is too small to be useful.

My main gripe was with an officious receptionist who just did not seem to appreciate that I was a paying guests that had other accommodation options in Chippenham. To be fair, she had a bad cold, so maybe I got her on a bad day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ImpBublinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    217
    75
    23
    9
See reviews for
87
189
19
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The staff are friendly and the hotel looks good, but it needs a bit of attention, and attention to detail.

Our room was in the annex, which has been well-designed to look good, but is a bit cheerless in winter. The room was a good size and well appointed but had a dormer window with a weird arrangement of curtain hanging from the sloping ceiling. The actual window failed to keep out either the cold draft or the sound of people shouting outside - it needs to be replaced by a properly fitted one to modern double-glazed standard. This annex is probably about 15 years old, but is looking tired.

10.00 is too early to finish breakfast at the weekend - some people like a lie-in! We forewent the lie-in and arrived for breakfast at 09.45 but there was a sense of not being very welcome and some items had been allowed to run out.

A shame. With a bit more focus on customer service and a bit of a refurb this could be a really nice hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old building, not the annex. I gather from family members who did that they are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A very friendly and comfortable hotel. Room was clean and modern and apart from a annoying high pitched hum, was fine. Didn't have dinner there but breakfast was really excellent, freshly cooked, hot and well prepared. Would definitely stay again. If it wasn't for the hum this would be five stars.

Room Tip: I think my room was over the gym which was where the hum was coming from so maybe try to avoid that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here in-between Christmas and year 2013 and had a wonderful 2 nights stay. Our room was HUGE with everything needed for a comfortable stay. I could nit pick about no shower cap, empty wine bottles not taken away but the little things did nothing to take away from our wonderful visit.
The staff were nothing but helpful. And when i asked about the history of the building i was given a fact sheet about the building and its history.Worth asking as The Angel was an important hotel for stage coaches traveling between Bristol and London
The restaurant was closed because of the holidays, but breakfast was freshly cooked and delivered to your table. All the items of my breakfast tasted fresh local and delicious. The pouched eggs were cooked to perfection.
Lovely areas to just sit and have coffee inside and a beautiful out side sitting area, with a nice place for smokers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowflyingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Angel after my office Christmas party in Chippenham. The room was large and comfortable. It was smart and well maintained, although we couldn't work out how to switch on the main spotlights in the ceiling, so assumed they weren't working. The public areas are very nice with comfy sofas and a modern decor. There is a lovely courtyard garden outside, but being December all we did was walk through it on the way to reception! The breakfast was good, but there was a hair in my hash brown. They would have been bought in so this wasn't a problem with the hotel's hygiene standards. I was offered a whole new breakfast but said the a fresh hash brown was fine. The waitress was very apologetic. Unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy the pool and leisure facilities, which was a shame because the pool looked very inviting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
4.3 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
358 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
676 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
Address: 8 Market Place, Chippenham SN15 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chippenham
Chippenham Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing