We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
195
256
102
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
256
102
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poololder partcar parkmain buildingmiddle of townlovely hotelleisure facilitiesold buildinggood sizecentral locationfull englishhigh streetno liftcooked breakfastreception deskfirst morningroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The staff are friendly and the hotel looks good, but it needs a bit of attention, and attention to detail.

Our room was in the annex, which has been well-designed to look good, but is a bit cheerless in winter. The room was a good size and well appointed but had a dormer window with a weird arrangement of curtain hanging from the sloping ceiling. The actual window failed to keep out either the cold draft or the sound of people shouting outside - it needs to be replaced by a properly fitted one to modern double-glazed standard. This annex is probably about 15 years old, but is looking tired.

10.00 is too early to finish breakfast at the weekend - some people like a lie-in! We forewent the lie-in and arrived for breakfast at 09.45 but there was a sense of not being very welcome and some items had been allowed to run out.

A shame. With a bit more focus on customer service and a bit of a refurb this could be a really nice hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old building, not the annex. I gather from family members who did that they are much nicer.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A very friendly and comfortable hotel. Room was clean and modern and apart from a annoying high pitched hum, was fine. Didn't have dinner there but breakfast was really excellent, freshly cooked, hot and well prepared. Would definitely stay again. If it wasn't for the hum this would be five stars.

Room Tip: I think my room was over the gym which was where the hum was coming from so maybe try to avoid that.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here in-between Christmas and year 2013 and had a wonderful 2 nights stay. Our room was HUGE with everything needed for a comfortable stay. I could nit pick about no shower cap, empty wine bottles not taken away but the little things did nothing to take away from our wonderful visit.
The staff were nothing but helpful. And when i asked about the history of the building i was given a fact sheet about the building and its history.Worth asking as The Angel was an important hotel for stage coaches traveling between Bristol and London
The restaurant was closed because of the holidays, but breakfast was freshly cooked and delivered to your table. All the items of my breakfast tasted fresh local and delicious. The pouched eggs were cooked to perfection.
Lovely areas to just sit and have coffee inside and a beautiful out side sitting area, with a nice place for smokers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowflyingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews