We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
195
256
102
38
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
256
102
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poololder partcar parkmain buildingmiddle of townlovely hotelleisure facilitiesold buildinggood sizecentral locationfull englishhigh streetno liftcooked breakfastreception deskfirst morningroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We (six of us) had one night here at a very reasonable price that included breakfast. The hotel is in the centre of town, has ample parking and a friendly welcome. It is set around a courtyard, which in the summer or warmer weather could be a lovely, quiet place to sit with a cup of coffee.
Rooms were clean, modern and spacious. We used the gym and pool and for most of the time had these facilities to ourselves. Bar and seating area very cosy and relaxing and drinks were fairly reasonably priced for a hotel. Breakfast was delicious. Didn't eat here in the evening but the menu looked appealing. Overall a pleasant stay, in easy reach of Bath via the train and we all would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here a week night for work. After a few days on the road in stormy weather it was relaxing to stay in such a comfortable and quiet hotel. The bath was so clean I had my first ever bath in a hotel, then ordered room service which came quickly and very hot. In the morning there were no quibbles when I requested an omelette (not on menu) which was delicious.
They was probably the best overnight work stay ever had...I slept well and woke thinking I was at home!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Had always wanted to overnight here - the food is quite good - but this was a tad disappointing. Small swimming pool out the back is too small to be useful.

My main gripe was with an officious receptionist who just did not seem to appreciate that I was a paying guests that had other accommodation options in Chippenham. To be fair, she had a bad cold, so maybe I got her on a bad day.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank ImpBublinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The staff are friendly and the hotel looks good, but it needs a bit of attention, and attention to detail.

Our room was in the annex, which has been well-designed to look good, but is a bit cheerless in winter. The room was a good size and well appointed but had a dormer window with a weird arrangement of curtain hanging from the sloping ceiling. The actual window failed to keep out either the cold draft or the sound of people shouting outside - it needs to be replaced by a properly fitted one to modern double-glazed standard. This annex is probably about 15 years old, but is looking tired.

10.00 is too early to finish breakfast at the weekend - some people like a lie-in! We forewent the lie-in and arrived for breakfast at 09.45 but there was a sense of not being very welcome and some items had been allowed to run out.

A shame. With a bit more focus on customer service and a bit of a refurb this could be a really nice hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old building, not the annex. I gather from family members who did that they are much nicer.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews