We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Country Pub”
Review of The George Inn - CLOSED

The George Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The George Inn is a lovely little pub/restaurant nestled in Sandy Lane amonst the most beautiful little thatched cottages. The Pub has views across the Bowood Estate from the recently refurbished dining room with log fires there is always a warm welcome from the New Owners. the cuisine is classic British with a modern twist.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My Wife and I, together with our Daughter & Son-in law and two Grandchildren Have just spent three an a half hours enjoying one of the best Pub meals we have ever had. The food was excellent, the staff helpful and very child friendly and the service was faultless. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend anyone to have a meal at The George, and we will certainly be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r0bbieT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raf W, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are so happy to hear this about your last visit, we try really hard to make families feel welcome, especially those with small children, as so many places tend to try and discourage families with children. Thank you for your positive review.

Kind regards, The George Inn,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

For once I am lost for words as the whole experience was so bad. Service on arrival? Dreadful, passed from one disinterested member of staff to another. When we eventually were seated in the conservatory, marginally better than the bar, we were not given cutlery or serviettes before the meal. By the time the "food" had arrived we lost patience and went hunting for our drinks to find the waitress training the barman.
The food was cold, vegetables dried out, and meat burned at the edges. It was claimed to be cooked on the premises when we booked, but it looked like processed beef. It tasted like processed cardboard.
We managed to get a deadest menu but getting somebody to take the order was a step too far, so we made for the exit. Even then there was nobody to take an order, the barman finally doing it through his till.
The only enjoyable part of the whole experience was the car park exit.
I'm sorry for such a miserable and damning review, in all of my others I've managed to find some saving grace but this was so dire I can't find a single positive
I'm not saying that hell will freeze over before we eat there again, but old Nick will certainly be wearing his winter clothes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank KermitF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raf W, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Dear Customer... we thank you for your review, but have to say we highly doubt that this is an accurate or true review... We only serve local produce, local meat & everything is cooked here at the George, so re formed food is far from the truth. Like wise, that your table was unlaid, all tables are laid all the time here, even the front bar tables & we don't do sittings, or sell booked tables before they are booked out, therefore your table would have been laid... further more, Erin the front of house manager is only 22 so understandably you could have mistaken her for a waitress, yet, she has to train the staff at sometime, and obviously during a shift is best practice. Our Sunday lunches are highly recommended with people coming back week after week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Mike and I had dinner here last night, first time since Harriet and Mark left. All I can say it was o.k.
Choice of 6 main courses that were o.k. Service was o.k, friendly enough but we had to ask for our coffee at the end.
My steak was cooked well and Mike had the cod and chips which was o.k. Prices very reasonable.
We felt there was a lack of atmosphere and needed a bubbly personality out front.
One thing that we thought totally bewildering was the enormous blackboard sighted immediately you entered the pub on your right hand side. We felt it intimidating and not needed. It seemed to cut the whole room in two, segregating the guests.
Might think twice about another visit.
Sadly we are lacking good reasonable eateries around the Chippenham area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank jeancollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raf W, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Mike and Jean,

It's a shame when old customers from previous tenants come in and have to compare their visit to the previous. Yes, the george has changed now, offering a more family friendly environment, more affordable food, yet still locally sourced and all cooked fresh to order.
It's also a shame that you didn't point out that 'giant black board' is in fact a chair, and instead of having the back of it looking boring, we thought we would utilise it, and have it as our specials board. Yes it does separate the front bar area in to two, this was done purposely to enable people to eat and not feel surrounded by drinkers and vise versa. It was also put in to stop any draft, (which the table before got a lot of) during the colder weather.
It is also strange how on the night in question you spent your whole visit laughing a talking to Jon, our bar manager, so i don't see the reasoning for a bubbly personality needed.
Sadly, people will always comair you to your predecessors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My son and I visited The George for Sunday dinner. We found the whole experience outstanding. The service was both friendly, accommodating and fast. The food was prepared to a high standard and the dessert left you in no doubt that the food was homemade.
If you visit I highly recommend the cheese cake it was divine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raf W, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and we hope you will be back again! Why not keep updated on our website and facebook pages with our up coming events too! Kind regards, the George Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went to The George on Friday with friends who had come from Sussex and were appalled by the standards in this restaurant. At 7.30 pm on Sat evening, only half of the menu was available. The waitress was obviously being given wrong information from the kitchen and kept changing the descriptions. We sat in the conservatory which is nicely laid out and is in a lovely location.
However, having chosen 3 of the Special starters, which should have been mackerel pate, they served us with chicken liver pate, which did not go down well with 2 vegetarians! The "home made bread" was actually stale supermarket baguettes. The main courses were awful consisting of boot leather steaks, plaice masquerading as Dover Sole, Lasagne sauce from a tin of tomatoes and sausages floating in Bisto gravy.
On top of the terrible food, we had to request cutlery, water glasses, the wine list, mustard and the salad to accompany the lasagne. None of the staff seemed to be the least bit bothered that things were not going well.#
To add insult to injury, no one attempted to apologise for the ruined evening and they added 10% service charge to the bill automatically.
Needless to say we will not be going there again and nor will any of our friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank churchfarmhartham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet J, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to write the review.
First of all i'd like to start by apologizing that you feel this way after your visit to us, however, on the evening in question, we had experienced a problem with our frier and therefore phoned ever table we had booked in to inform them of this, as well as telling people as they arrived so that people had the option to go else where, as yes, some of the things on the menu were unavailable, such as chips, whitebait etc as they are fried.
Admittedly there was the mix up with the starters, for your pescitarian friends, that was a slight hiccup made by the waitress who had just started 1 week previous, who apologised for the mistake.
How ever, the food you are describing as basically shop bought/frozen/packeted etc, is all made fresh and in the pub. The bread,Focaccia, is a traditional family recipe and is toasted, and the sauce is home made from scratch too as is the gravy, which is made from stock, prepared from scratch which takes hours to make. You are more than welcome to contact us and come in for the day and see everything prepared and made fresh here on the premises, if you feel this is not the case.
We do not give wine lists, as that is more something that happens at a restaurant, where as we are a pub that serves food. Leading on to the fact that water is not something we offer, therefore yes, you do have to request that, as you do with the sauce, as we can't guarantee what sauce you will or wont want with your food, so we ask what sauces we can get you after placing down your food.
It's a shame you didn't say anything when you were table checked, twice, as a personal apology would have been made, or we could have tried to amend any problems.
The service charge also is optional, as stated on the menu, and is why there are 2 prices on your final bill, which we have never had a problem with as people are happy to pay it, as you can see from the great reviews we have received since taking over below.
Never the less, feel free to contact us further if you would like to come in and see things prepared or for anything else.
Thank you again.
The George Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Bromham, Wiltshire
 
Bromham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing