We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 28 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was a perfect stop over point for us when travelling from Northampton to Cardiff. They did advise us in advance that they close for the afternoon, so we planned to arrive at 6pm. The room was nice and clean, the only negative is that the tv was very small, but this is the only complaint i had with the room. We did hear that the food, but we drove into Chippingham for something to eat. - Breakfast was great, keep us going all day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc-utd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 100 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Although the beer was good and the people very freindly, our room was very dirty. We were put into what they called the flat, the shower had green mold growing in the corners and the rest of the flat look as if it had not been cleaned properly for a very long time. There was a lot of noise below our bedroom window in the middle of the night, shouting etc! The evening meal was a let down, we left most of our main course. We didn't have breakfast because we had to leave early in the morning, they gave us what they called a takeaway breakfast, two soggy ham & tomato baguettes, not what I would call £80's worth!
We would never go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornishtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

We were concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us - as always, these things are better dealt with at the time of your stay and it would have been far more beneficial to raise your concerns during your visit, in order for us to address them properly.

We can assure you that all of our rooms are cleaned thoroughly by our housekeepers on inspected by management on a daily basis. Your evening meal would also have been checked by one of our waiting staff and it we had been aware of a problem, this could have been rectified for you, also at the time. For guests leaving before breakfast, we have always offered a choice of baguettes - the fillings normally being at the choice of the guest and we are sorry that you did not enjoy these - unfortunately tomato is not known for keeping well in sandwiches and the like, despite the fact that there was a full size operational fridge in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Quiet friendly pub and restaurant. Good home cooked food, friendly staff and locals.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Very friendly service, excellent food, beer and wine together with good value and pleasant accommodation. This pub is one of the nicest country pubs I have come across.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
1.6 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
7.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
197 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast

Address: 80 Kington St Michael, Chippenham SN14 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional and privately owned village inn offering home cooked fayre, an excellent range of well kept real ales and ciders, free wireless broadband, quality en-suite Bed and Breakfast, seasonal open log fire and a warm and friendly welcome.Winner - Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year Winner 2013 - CAMRA Pub of the Year Winner - Highly Commended CAMRA Pub of the Year & Good Beer Guide ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jolly Huntsman Bed And Breakfast Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing