We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, B&B not bad either”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 29 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Stockport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great pub, B&B not bad either”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is definitely a brilliant pub, and any pub connoisseur would have a whale of a time. That does mean that on a Saturday night either you join in or you could be kept awake! We found everything about the pub excellent, from the food and drink to the company. It is definitely the local for a good many as well as attracting parties fro further afield, and the atmosphere is very good. Be quick to book a table if you want dinner, as it's very popular.
We always look for; bed, bathroom (particularly shower), dressing table facilities.
The room (no 9) was very plain and particularly the bed let it down, being much too firm for us as also very creaky! Although it was all new, and there were lots of electric sockets, they were all awkwardly placed for mirrors and lights - my wife found it hard to use her curling tongs. The shower enclosure was very big and the shower flow rate OK but not easy to control.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatleyGrappler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive comments. We have noted the issues relating to placing cosmetic items on convenient surfaces and the creaky bed and have addressed these accordingly. Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    17
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
37
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We found the Jolly Huntsman when we got lost on our way to Stonehenge. What a wonderful find! Luckily, they had a room for us. We walked into the bar and restaurant and instantly felt welcome and everyone there was very kind. Staff and other customers. We had a great meal, then went to our room. The room was beautiful and very clean with everything we needed. The breakfast the next morning was cooked to order and hot and delicious. We checked out of room and headed south to Stonehenge. We also took time to see other things in the area. Before we knew it, the day was coming to an end and we realized that we would not make it home that night. I called the Jolly Huntsman and they had one room left and they were nice enough to hold it for us. We got back there, got our same room and had a delicious dinner. Again, with very friendly staff and we had a nice time visiting with the other customers there. I live in the U.S. and was visiting England. My plan is to return to England to visit and now, no visit would be complete without a visit to the Jolly Huntsman. I plan to stay for at least 5 days next time. It is such a relaxing time with good food, good drink and good people. The selections of food and drink are great. Thank you to the staff and owners for making our time there so memorable. Hope to see them again soon. Am not sure if there was a pool there, but I am sure it is as good as everything else so I rated it excellent like everything else!

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had a queen size bed and a twin bed. Both beds were comfortable as were the pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thanks so much for your review and it was a pleasure to meet you both. We shall look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here last winter for a friends wedding. The pub was warm and welcoming with a good selection of beers and good food. However, the room was basic, freezing cold and there was no hot water. We did mention this to the staff and were told it's on a timer and they'll look into it. We left it an hour but still no hot water, so a freezing cold shower, in an already cold room on one of the coldest days of the year wasn't the best start!.

The breakfast was good, and you can order what you want but make sure you're on time! some guest were 2 mins late which didn't go down too well. As half of us had drove to the wedding venue the day before, some guests went to pick up the cars after breakfast while the rest of us checked out. We were told we couldn't wait in the rooms for them to return and then when we asked whether we could wait in the breakfast room / pub, it was replied with a sorry, no, and the door was bolted once we'd paid. Considering it was snowing and freezing outside you would have thought they would have let us stay inside, especially as the staff were still inside!.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilcoxtww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Firstly, we would like to point out that in all of our years here, no guest has knowingly been short of hot water, indeed none of the boilers are subject to a time switch as with the heating. Upon the weekend in question, most guests requested an early check in so as to get ready for the wedding and all were accommodated, which was only facilitated due to the thoughtfulness of the guests the night before who were willing to check out on time. Breakfast and check out times exist for a reason. All too often, guests having attended functions the night before are in no hurry to check out and have no idea that it takes a good 90 minutes to clean the pub itself prior to opening for lunch, not to mention the rooms. We are sure you would agree that it would not be reasonable, safe or practical to engage in cleaning and vacuuming whilst surrounded by residents wishing to remain in the pub itself -a lot of behind the scenes work takes place to keep everything clean, tidy and running like clockwork and whilst we are willing to do our very best to meet the requests of all of our guests, this courtesy does sometimes require to be returned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamctr
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed on a friday night, arriving at 6pm and leaving the next day and to sum up my experience of the Jolly Huntsman was excellent. Helen who I dealt with was helpful and extremely hospitable. The pub had a fantastic atmosphere, the food terrific (excellent portions) and the beer top notch.

The rooms were clean and spacious whilst the beds comfy. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hugely enjoyed meeting you all and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Do not hesitate.
I was given room 11, which has a Double and a Single bed,and is blessed with two windows making for a light airy rom
Perfectly acceptable for 1or 2 nights,I only say this because there are no comfortable seats in this room(with a polite sign asking you NOT to sit on the single bed if you are only using the Double)
Wi Fi works perfectly well,and Shower (only) room very clean and again has it's own window
Now for a Tip,very confortable Bar Area /Restaraunt but be warned, the food is really, realy good and way above average" Gastro Pub standards"
The Portions are simply huge(I had Chicken/Chorizo salad as a starter which was a main meal itself,and do try it if only for the Poached Egg in Batter!)
Staff welcoming and eager to ensure your stay/meal is as you would wish
Parking is no problem with on street parking (no restrictions) even if the Car Park is full
Will not hesitate to use again
Top Marks

Room Tip: Can only comment on Room 11 but would be happy to use this room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your online review. Hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

I arrived late on a Thursday evening, about 10pm. The pub was busy but the landlady quickly made herself known to me and showed me to my room which was in what I presume used to be stables now converted into nice ensuite rooms. I had room 4 which was perfectly adequate for a night stop over for work. The kitchen had just closed but Helen did offer to get me hot food though I didn't feel like eating so soon after arriving. Instead she put me together a cheese plate. the room was comfortable enough and better than a more expensive travel inn. I paid £65 b&b. The breakfast was ok too but checkout took a few minutes because the chef was also on this duty. Overall the stay was good though I was only there for about 8 hours. Helen couldn't have been friendlier even when I managed to leave a bad review by mistake for another hotel on a different site. She rang me and I was able to make amends. Again sorry for the mistake. I would stay here again and look forward to trying the food that has been raved about on here

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
345 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Visited with friends and thankfully we did not order starters because the main courses were gargantuan and of such good quality we could not leave a morsel. Needless to say we could not have dessert. The dishes ordered were a duck breast in an orange sauce; homemade burger; gammon egg and pineapple and a steak and kidney pudding. It is not fine dining but well executed hearty Fayre which deserves a second visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomski2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and visit to us and thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We hope to welcome you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
1.6 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
115 reviews
7.4 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Address: 80 Kington St Michael, Chippenham SN14 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional and privately owned village inn offering home cooked fayre, an excellent range of well kept real ales and ciders, free wireless broadband, quality en-suite Bed and Breakfast, seasonal open log fire and a warm and friendly welcome.Winner - Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year Winner 2013 - CAMRA Pub of the Year Winner - Highly Commended CAMRA Pub of the Year & Good Beer Guide ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jolly Huntsman Bed And Breakfast Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing