We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Had a lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a one night stay using Groupon voucher. This is a lovely place to stay we had a deluxe room on the ground floor which had a small patio area, the room was huge as was the bathroom. We had our evening meal in the gallery restaurant - it took me out of my comfort zone food wise as I normally have chicken or duck, neither of these appeared on the menu I opted for guinea fowl and it was delicious. All of the staff were attentive without being over-bearing. Breakfast was good there was a nice selection for the continental option and the cooked breakfast was freshly prepared and portion size was sufficent. There was an incident at the hotel shortly after we arrived and all of the staff (including the back of house staff) dealt with this professionally. I am hoping to go back for a longer stay in the near future as I came away totally relaxed.

Room Tip: ground floor to the rear gives you a small outside area to sit in if the weather is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giggleslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    89
    45
    25
    15
See reviews for
105
111
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lampeter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

nice friendly hotel with helpful staff near to the motorway at junction 17 of the M4.

I attended an evening business event at this hotel the staff were most helful thoughout the stay and the facilities provided for the business event I attended were ideal as was the private dining room. But see note below on choosing a room.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it is quite close to the actual motorway and the noise tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here as guests at a wedding taking place there. The wedding was lovely - the staff were really good and the food was good too. Our room was OK but here is where attention to detail could be improved. There were paint marks on the curtains and the room layout could be improved but for the price we paid it was fine. Breakfast is really where they let themselves down. There was supposedly a "continental breakfast buffet" which should have been croissants, danish pastries, selection of yoghurts, juices etc. In reality the croissants/danish pastries had all gone by 9:00am (they knew they were fully booked so why not increase their order? There was no selection of fruit yoghurts but just a bowl of plain yoghurt which had been sitting there unchilled and uncocvered. We sat there for 10 minutes until someone came and asked what drinks we wanted, it was a further 10 mins before they took our order. Very slow - again as they were full due to the wedding why did they not bring in extra staff? However it wasn't that busy! It seemed to me that the running of the hotel had been left to a lot of very young possibly casual staff? They were friendly enough but they need to be more organised!

Room Tip: Our room was fine but there are some very nice rooms but not sure which ones these were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here at the end of January and we really enjoyed our stay with a discounted price. The bedroom was of a very good size and bathroom was very impressive, but it was a shame that shower was a little low in pressure.

Food and breakfast were delicious, although £10 for ham eggs and chips was a little steep. Really enjoyed just sitting down in front of the open fire place having a drink in a quiet hotel. Brekafast was not a buffet with it being freshly made and quality products.

When we booked we always made sure there wasnt a wedding on, I can imagine it being very noisy and busy if there was one taking place.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and always willing to have a chat. Could tell they were from the local area.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed and will definately be heading back in the future.

Room Tip: We had a double delux - plenty of room and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, uk
Level Contributor
417 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Stanton Manor Hotel for a 2 night weekend stay end of January for a birthday treat.
Hotel is pretty easy to find and plenty of parking on arrival. Check in very swift and staff very helpful and accommodating. We arrived at 6pm when the wedding was in full swing and many guests already quite drunk. We went to our room which was on the first floor - the room was lovely - very large - with a huge bathroom off the bedroom - plenty of hanging space in the wardbrobe. We were unpacking when we noticed a party was in full swing in the room next door - screaming girls, men shouting and then the banging started on the adjoining wall. You can imagine our total disappointment.
We did not realise there was going to be a wedding on the day we arrived and the hotel had not contacted us previous to let us know bearing in mind we had booked some 5 months prior to arriving.
We spoke to the on duty manager who was behind the bar and he was very helpful and apologetic and offered us another room on the ground floor a short distance from where the wedding reception was taking place. We did hear the noise in the room which was much smaller than our previous but that stopped at midnight and we got a good nights sleep. Breakfast on both days was very good - large selection of cereal, fruits, pastries, juices and choice of various meals.
The grounds are lovely and definitely worth a walk around especially as the breakfasts are quite substantial so nice to walk off. We didnt eat in the restaurant in the evenings but opted to go to a couple of pubs withn 10 mins drive both of which were great as with the food - a personal choice as we hadnt heard any bad reviews for the restaurant but wanted to sample local sourced food close by.
Beware if you stay in room 23 which was where we were relocated to - shower screen is in need of repair and water floods out from the broken seal all over the floor - which was hazardous when we stepped out of the shower - aware of this the next time and put towels down.
We would go back for another weekend but not if a wedding is taking place as it is very noisy and the hotel bar is quite small but cosy - we were unable to use the bar as it was packed out on the Friday with wedding guests - no bar in the function room where the wedding was.

Room Tip: The first floors rooms are a lot nicer than the ground floor - much roomier and away from the functi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have eaten at this hotel's restaurant in the past. On Dec. 28, 2011 I called the hotel to book a table for lunch on Friday, Dec. 30. A recorded voice told me, amongst other matters, that my call was important to the hotel. After a pause, another voice told me that my call could not be taken and I could leave a message. I did so and included the number at which i could be reached for a call from them to confirm my booking. No reaction. I called again on Dec. 29. Same procedure and, again, no call back.

On the morning of Dec. 30 we received a call from a lady at the hotel saying that they had been closed for three days and she wasn't sure about lunch that day, as the chef didn't come in until 10.00 a.m. However, she would discuss with the chef and would call us back. My wife emphasised that we were leaving on our journey at 11.30 at the latest. No call was received and we ate elsewhere.

If the hotel is closed I suggest that a recorded message should tell callers just that. I further suggest that the hotel should know well in advance what services it will provide guests and when, when it reopens.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaitCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

A surprise two night stay to celebrate our birthdays and wedding anniversary. Couldn't fault it. The young staff both young and efficient. The food excellent. Had the same starter Goats Cheese Mousse 2 nights running it was so good. Excellent accomodation. Within reasonable distance of both Bath and Salisbury. Can thoroughly recommend it. Can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetarsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton Manor Hotel

Property: Stanton Manor Hotel
Address: Stanton Manor Stanton Saint Quintin, Chippenham SN14 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is conveniently situated minutes from junction 17 of the M4, set in the Cotswolds and a short drive to Chippenham, Bath and Bristol. The house has a rich history and is listed in the Domesday Book. Some rooms have luxury king-size four-poster beds, while others are suitable for families. All rooms are en-suite. The Gallery Restaurant has an AA Rosette and serves traditional British cuisine, overlooking the stunning grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stanton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Manor Chippenham
Hotel Stanton Manor
Stanton Manor Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing