We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Workshop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanton Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Chippenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Business Workshop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stanton Manor hosted a small group of us attending a business workshop for a start-up company. We had the small lounge room for the whole day which worked very well. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel team who looked after our every need. We had a buffet lunch which was excellent and more than we could manage, so there was a doggy-bag to take home! All in all, a great day in lovely surroundings (a walk in the gardens in the sunshine at lunchtime was bliss). The day was a success from start to finish from the group's point of view and very reasonably priced. We're planning a progress workshop in a few months and will definitely be asking Stanton Manor to look after us once again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest

It’s really rewarding as a manager to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your business stay, but more importantly you would not hesitate in coming back. On behalf of the team at Stanton I’d like to thank you for your optimistic and constructive review and hope that we see you again for a business or leisure say in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments in the first instance.

Kind Regards Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    87
    44
    24
    15
See reviews for
102
107
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire, West Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here just for one night to break up a long boring motorway journey. Room 5 was beautiful and although I'm not a fan of secondary double glazing it did cut down on the traffic noise from the M4. The en-suite had a huge corner bath with shower over, but unfortunately we couldn't get the shower to produce more than a drip, althought the bath was fine. The staff were very friendly and professional and we were assured that the shower would be fixed as the maintenance man was due that day. The bed was enormous and supremely comfortable and breakfast was wonderful. Like other reviewers I found the dipped wooden chairs and threadbare sofas a tad disappointing. I would have given 5 stars if these issues were addressed, but they didn't spoil our stay and given the location I expect we will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumb0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for your review, secondly thank you for your very honest and constructive comments. After several customers remarked on the water pressure and several trip advisor reviews advising us of the same issue we have invested in a new water pump pressure system for the rooms that sporadically suffered from poor water pressure to eradicate this issue. I’m confident to say that hopefully if you stay again you will certainly notice the difference. The shabby chic approach to future was taken a bit too far with the thread bare sofa’s, so they have now been replaced with leather chesterfields. Your whole review was received in a positive vain and the good points absorbed and the constructive points acted upon. Many Thanks.

Kind Regards Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We got married at Stanton manor on the 23rd of march and I cannot speak highly enough about the place. The food was amazing, the rooms are lovely and a nice mixture of sizes to suit all your friends and family. Alex and Kelly the wedding planners were brilliant and literally make sure you have everything sorted so nothing can be missed so no last minute stress!! The staff in general are great they are hidden on the day until you need them and very professional. Big thank you to everyone there. We had an amazing day thanks to you guys :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhiM433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Big thanks to you too, for such a comprehensive and amazing review. All the staff really enjoy working and managing weddings it is a big part of the service the hotel provides. It is especially satisfying and rewarding when we know we have managed to and exceed the expectation of the guests. Your positive comments will be shared with all the staff involved, many thanks.

Kind Regards

Bernice Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was pre-booked on our behalf (by the crew who had stayed there before) as it was close to the work location for the next days filming.
Stunning surroundings and amazing gardens, when it warms up, it would be a delight to walk around.

Lovely friendly staff and very helpful.
We had a family room (7) which was very bright and spacious, with views overlooking the gardens.
Very comfortable bed, all in all a very comfortable room.

Drank in the bar and dined in the restaurant. The food was of a VERY high standard.
Chris (the barman & waiter) could double as a young David Beckham :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view (judging by the comments of others)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a generous review, it’s really lovely to know we got everything right for you. On some occasions we might not tick all the boxes for everyone, but it’s certainly our professional and personnel aim to ensure that we do and I’m delighted we achieved it during your stay. Many Thanks.

Kind Regards

Bernice Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Alex and her team looked after us on our big day. Stanton is a tired country hotel whose Dubai based owner took his eye off the ball a long time since. The standard of the decor is extremely bad, tired ripped sofas, lead missing in windows, tired rooms, poor thought to upkeep of paintwork and general maintenance. Shoddy doesn't go far, it needs a manager who can go to the owner and say get a grip you haven't got a clue how to invest in your property. However the secret to making a very rough diamond like Stanton work is staff who take you to somewhere else by looking after you, who look after your guests, whose catering, front of house and ease and quiet professional finesse just made our weekend a huge success. We love the Stanton. It does need a good arson attack to make it worth more than a low three stars for upkeep but the staff are a huge huge credit to the establishment. Now the owner needs to get on a plane from Dubai and actually spend some time thinking about engagement as he is letting his staff down and also lowering attainable long term revenue by not being smart

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on business. Its in a nice quiet area with attractive grounds and a good quality restaurant. The bedrooms are dull and uninviting, the view was a bin area surrounded by bamboo sticks. The decor needs updating and further heating was required as the room was cold despite the small rad being on full. Dinner finishes at 8:45pm which I found to be too early.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripthelightfandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I got married at stanton manor on 2nd march, the wedding coordinator was remarkable and ensured everything had arrived and made sure it was a day to remember!
The staff were very polite and helpful towards ourselves and our guests, going from ensuring the service went smoothly, the breakfast was set up lovely and tasted amazing. The rooms were clean and very roomly.
Overall the experience was perfect from the meetings to leaving the hotel the next day. I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystkat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton Manor Hotel

Property: Stanton Manor Hotel
Address: Stanton Manor Stanton Saint Quintin, Chippenham SN14 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is conveniently situated minutes from junction 17 of the M4, set in the Cotswolds and a short drive to Chippenham, Bath and Bristol. The house has a rich history and is listed in the Domesday Book. Some rooms have luxury king-size four-poster beds, while others are suitable for families. All rooms are en-suite. The Gallery Restaurant has an AA Rosette and serves traditional British cuisine, overlooking the stunning grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Stanton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Manor Chippenham
Hotel Stanton Manor
Stanton Manor Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing