We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab find ! !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanton Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab find ! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We came here on our way down south, we chose this place as it was only 14 pounds more expensive than the travel lodge and included breakfast ! ! and wow we loved it building full of character beautiful gardens ( and really really well kept ) friendly helpful staff . Our room was upgraded and was big light, clean with garden view , comfortable large bed , large tv overall this place was great wouldn't change it only slight disappointment ( but wouldn't stop me returning ) was food was ok but not exceptional ! ( ps some comments about road noise from some , although didn't bother us , from m4 , but place was so good would sooner move M4 than not give this place a return visit ! ) thank you for a lovely stay

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wally417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for finding us, thank you for taking the time to submit a review, and thank you for your kind words, about your lovely stay. Like you, my only slight disappointment is your experience of the food was only OK! As a team the staff are never complacent and always look to improve where we can. The menus are reviewed regularly so I’m glad you said you would return because hopefully on that occasion we can tickle your taste buds and ensure the food is more to your liking. Thanks again for your very constructive comments.

Kind Regards Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    87
    44
    24
    15
See reviews for
102
107
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the moment we arrived, Sally and Kelly did everything they could to make our training event a success and stress free. From a warm welcome, checked details, lovely refreshments to up-grading us to a bigger training room, they showed excellent customer service.

Stanton Manor is a rural, tranquil, easily-accessible venue, which we have used several times, but this was the best service we have had to date. It all makes it so much easier for trainers and delegates to relax and enjoy the day. If you want a training venue away from the normal large corporate hotel environment, then this is perfect. Accept that it is an old building with all the quirkiness that brings. The extensive garden offers a lot of space for team exercises, if required and weather permits.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guest

I am immensely appreciative of such lovely feedback and that you have taken the time to post your review on trip advisor. Your points and comments, but more importantly your observations of the Hotel itself are so well made. Thank you.

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Room was no better than a poor motel room. Stained carpets and paper thin walls. Food very ordinary. Large helpings disguise poor quality and wine list limited. Staff tried hard and were very pleasant but couldn't overcome hotels shortcomings. Stay elsewhere !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nh9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guest

I am very sorry that on this occasion we obviously got it wrong or there was a conflict in expectation for a 3 star establishment. The majority of our many trip advisor reviews along with our regular guests have found the food to their liking and the wine list very acceptable.

All comments are received positively and will contribute to any management decisions that need to be made. Thank you for highlighting that staff were very pleasant but I can only apologise again that in your view you felt Stanton Manor was very ordinary.

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights a present from our daughters, The hotel is lovely and very helpful friendly staff. The grounds of the beautiful mannor house are gorgeous and the bedrooms are just lovely. Bath has so many thing to do, The Roman baths are great and the lovely little shos and tea rooms, we love going to sally lun tea room. if you want lots to do or just rest and chill then this is the place to be.Thank You for everything Rona &Steve Lane

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guest

As the General Manager of the hotel it is so rewarding to get such positive feedback about the staff. Your whole review of the hotel is very encouraging. Thank you for taking your time to write the review in the first instance.

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for one night, staff all very helpful and friendly. Gardens were lovely, room a bit dated with one of the wheels on my sons bed a bit wonky but a large room with a double bed and a single. The shower was so rubbish that I had to have a bath instead. Dinner was good and breakfast was also.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your contribution on trip advisor. All comments made, along with customer feedback at the hotel are reviewed with integrity and not ignored. Your points about the shower pressure being poor was checked, worked on and resolved. A new high powered pressure pump for 6 of the rooms including the one you stayed in has been installed successfully to overcome the water pressure problem. The bed leg has also been replaced. Thank you for your genuine observations and constructive feedback.

Kind Regards

Bernice Reed – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Four of us stayed for a night in this hotel. The food from the bar menu was excellent. The service was friendly and the receptionist was most helpful. We would recommend this hotel as a place to stay while sight seeing in the area. The bathrooms were very well laid out, however if you expect a power shower you will be disappointed. Though I would not let this deter me from a revisit. Our party was fairly fussy, yet none could not fault the hotel staff or the service. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calire1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guest

Please allow me to thank you for a very thoughtful, honest and overall very positive review.
It’s always good to get great comments but along with the positive it is the hotels duty to take onboard the less encouraging observations. Your remarks about the poor shower pressure along with other customer’s comments on the same subject were taken on board constructively. A new pressure system for the rooms which had intermittent issues with water pressure has been installed and resolved the concern successfully.

Your review was gratefully received by all the staff at Stanton manor and we hope to see you and your friends again sometime soon.

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stanton Manor hosted a small group of us attending a business workshop for a start-up company. We had the small lounge room for the whole day which worked very well. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel team who looked after our every need. We had a buffet lunch which was excellent and more than we could manage, so there was a doggy-bag to take home! All in all, a great day in lovely surroundings (a walk in the gardens in the sunshine at lunchtime was bliss). The day was a success from start to finish from the group's point of view and very reasonably priced. We're planning a progress workshop in a few months and will definitely be asking Stanton Manor to look after us once again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest

It’s really rewarding as a manager to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your business stay, but more importantly you would not hesitate in coming back. On behalf of the team at Stanton I’d like to thank you for your optimistic and constructive review and hope that we see you again for a business or leisure say in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments in the first instance.

Kind Regards Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton Manor Hotel

Property: Stanton Manor Hotel
Address: Stanton Manor Stanton Saint Quintin, Chippenham SN14 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is conveniently situated minutes from junction 17 of the M4, set in the Cotswolds and a short drive to Chippenham, Bath and Bristol. The house has a rich history and is listed in the Domesday Book. Some rooms have luxury king-size four-poster beds, while others are suitable for families. All rooms are en-suite. The Gallery Restaurant has an AA Rosette and serves traditional British cuisine, overlooking the stunning grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stanton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Manor Chippenham
Hotel Stanton Manor
Stanton Manor Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing