We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, comfortable room, great food and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Our visit started well with a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room - a nice big room with huge bed, settee, doors leading into the gardens and a big bathroom. The hotel has been thoughtfully extended from the original old stone house and is very warm and welcoming. The staff were pleasant and attentive and we enjoyed an aperitif in the late afternoon sunshine with the faint rumble of the M4 in the background. Dinner was superb, we both thoroughly enjoyed the flavours from each course along with a very reasonably priced bottle of wine. After dinner and in the bar the barman led me through the choice of whiskies and I settled on a good peaty Jura. The bed and pillows were very comfortable enabling a good nights sleep. Breakfast wasn't the best, the sausages have a very odd taste but we weren't exactly starving so no problem there. We would definitely return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateGt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stanton Manor Hotel will be on our Dublin to London itinerary as a half way stop many times in the future I hope. A wonderful relaxing atmosphere in beautiful garden settings ... and then the food ... no wonder the second rosette has appeared.
All the staff worked with a will; putting guest comfort at the top of their list.
Wish I was there now, struggling with decisions over the menu and wondering if I dare ask for 'a bit of each'.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Gringoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed at Stanton Manor for their Valentine's dinner & disco and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the event and the staff. We checked in at 2.00pm to find a beautiful orchid and quality chocolates in the room (though we knew this was part of the package, it was the quality of the gifts which surpassed expectation). The ground floor, superior economy room was large, and well equipped - with a huge wall mounted flat screen TV which kept my husband happy! The event commenced with cava and canapes before a gorgeous 7 course meal. I have a nut allergy and the chef ensured I still had a wonderful meal even though it meant serving me something different. A disco followed, again great attention to detail ensured that the music played matched the age group which were primarily middle aged (including us!).
The disco finished promptly at midnight which ensured that residents were not disturbed by late night music and during the night the hotel was incredibly quiet. The quality again showed through with the breakfast food the following morning which finished off what had been a very enjoyable valentine's weekend. We would not hesitate in staying here again and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

A friend recommended this Hotel, we read the reviews and nearly thought twice but we called her back and she said most of reviews are nonsense ,so we booked a weekend during the summer and had a perfect weekend.
The hotel was spotless, the room was delightful and the grounds adorable. We had a large comfortable bed, crisp linen.
Dinner was fabulous both evenings. Visited various local Villages & had lunch.
The staff always ready to help. We would stay again at the soonest opportunity, already thinking about Easter.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miaclesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We were not dissapointed with this hotel, we had a fantastic room. Stayed for our 20th wedding anniversary and was spoilt throughout. We went for the 2 day spa package and we found it great value for money. The satff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble this was noticable with everyone they dealt with. The staff if you asked them for anything got straight onto it ,all they wanted to do was make your stay as comfortable as possible. We finished our weekend with a trip to Bath for the thermal spa, just go warm baths a choice of 4 steam rooms and an open air pool. The 2 hours goes quickely so get your bearings before you go into spa. Shopping afterwards has to be every girls dream! Even my husband didnt get bored.
Dont think about it just book it you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercup490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We booked a fantastic late deal to visit this hotel for the bank holiday. Having paid for it alreadu, we were informed a couple of days before the trip that there was an exclusive wedding on both Friday and Saturday and therefore our rooms were not available. This was due to us having booked "while we were updating our systems" - as if they didn't know there'd be a wedding on so close to the actual date! We were not offered any assistance in trying to obtain a refund or anywhere else to stay and had to work it all out via lastminute.com, which caused us untold stress - we didn't actually find anywhere till the day before our holiday!

I'm sure it is a very nice place to stay, but the attitude of the staff in rectifying (or not) their error has put me off for good! We ended up staying in a lovely, friendly hotel not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimandPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We went to the U2 concert in Cardiff and were unable to get accomodation close to Cardiff but when we arrived in the early afternoon, we were fortunate to be able to check in early and relax for a while before needing to head off again. The location was fantastic - only a few minutes off the M4 however well sheltered from any motorway noise and in a lovely village. The hotel is lovely amd is set in tranquil, pictureque gardens. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, both on the phone and in person. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom clean and modern with a good shower over the bath, and the bed was very comfortable. Our breakfast was also great. We couldn't fault anything and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,059 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
337 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton Manor Hotel

Address: Stanton Manor Stanton Saint Quintin, Chippenham SN14 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range: £63 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is conveniently situated minutes from junction 17 of the M4, set in the Cotswolds and a short drive to Chippenham, Bath and Bristol. The house has a rich history and is listed in the Domesday Book. Some rooms have luxury king-size four-poster beds, while others are suitable for families. All rooms are en-suite. The Restaurant, which overlooks the fabulous gardens, is very welcoming and serves traditional British cuisine for lunch and dinner as well as traditional afternoon teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Stanton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Manor Chippenham
Hotel Stanton Manor
Stanton Manor Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing