We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here again!”
Review of Somerford Arms

Somerford Arms
Ranked #21 of 111 Restaurants in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Here again!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We come here frequently. The food is always good, the service is always friendly and we always have a splendid time. Nothing changes here. How nice is that?!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glebebears81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    40
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex,uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fab atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is our forth visit to Chippenham and wouldnt be the same without a visit to this fantastic pub.
Emma and paul and the staff are very friendly. The food is excellent and good value for money.
We would definately recomend you visit this traditional but quirky little pub,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Owned by a small community group (I'm told), this is a delightfully refurbished and re-designed interior. Colours are as I might describe, of a Ile de Re type, kind of pastel green. It is open spacious and above all, light.
Furniture is of a traditional design, do note the old suitcase sitting on its metal stand by the fire, and, the patchwork jacket standing to the side. Nice touch were large candles burning on each and every table.
My wife and I visited about 2.30 on a Friday afternoon, the pub/restaurant was quite quiet. We ordered their £6.00 ham and cheese, and double ham sandwiches. They came piping hot with (thin)chips. The whole presentation of this simple meal has been well thought out, I won't spoil your surprise by describing it any further. Both were delicious. We were on a 13mile bike ride so these nicely filled the gap.Thatchers Dry cider washed them down.
The `landlady` was charming, welcoming and easy to talk to.
I noted that they do take table reservations, that Friday night was fully booked, so might be worth planning in advance if dining in the evening.
When leaving, note the big oak tree `standing watch` at edge of the car park.
For other cycling enthusiasts, this whole area is outstandingly beautiful, once you get away from the motorway. Well worth making the effort.
Plus, do try and find the Dumb Post pub, just a little further south but north of Calne. It has the most beautiful views from the very large patio area. The pub does have a website, and on Thursdays it has a burger day, which includes venison and black pudding in one, yum!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 151Mike151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing customer service, as always”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I took a party of 5 adults and 1 child for Sunday lunch, the party included 4 vegetarians 2 of who are dairy intolerant and 1 one of those is also gluten intolerant. With just 1 days notice Em, Paul and the team look after us perfectly.

Many thanks, see you again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well worth trying”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We ate at the Somerford Arms on a stopover while on holiday, and I can thoroughly recommend it. The staff are attentive and polite and the food and beer are good too. There is a good selection of food on the menu, and the prices are on a par with what you would expect to pay in this part of England.

This pub is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Somerford Arms also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Somerford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing