We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AT LAST, A DECENT STEAK HOUSE !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at Giddea Hall
Ranked #12 of 31 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Decided to try the Crown after reading the latest review in the Gazette and Herald. Pub has been nicely refurbed, friendly owner and staff, greeting on arrival from owner would have been nice but had a long chat afterwards. Staff very helpful and friendly but still need a bit of organisation. Food great, a little apprehensive re cooking own steaks on hot stones at first but turned out to be fun and meat was excellent, portions on all courses was amazing, excellent choice especially cheeses. Other food looked great coming out. Food not cheap but good quality and excellent value for money. Only dissapointment was that there was no wine list and staff didn't really know what wines they had. Given a few more weeks this will be an excellent venue for Saturday nights, Sunday lunch or just a quick weekday lunch. Well worth a try! Will go again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Burton595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We went there as a party of 6 and we had the most amazing steaks, they were cooked on the lava stones, it was a very enjoyable experience! A bit of fun and different! We will defiantly go back and have another mouth watering steak! The atmosphere in the lovely old pub was just so friendly and cosy! So please go and give it a try!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I booked a lunch for 6 people today, having phoned and enquired what the menu was as there was a blank page on their website,. The choices were disappointing, basic canteen fare, sausage / chips, burgers etc but a promise of a really good new menu next week as they had only just taken over which would explain the previous reports of bad meals from an exiting landlord.
However on arriving (2 of the party) we had a coffee while waiting, to be told it would have to be instant, I complained and someone came and pressed a button on the 'not working' machine and coffee was forthcoming.
We looked at the menu only to find it as I was told on first calling, no 'really exciting' food as promised. When I queried this there was no real explanation and given the option of having something off the evening steak menu, all very well if all 6 people want steak!
The other 4 arrived and we decided this was a pretty awful restaurant and as it was supposed to be a birthday celebration we decided to leave and try another pub down the road, where we incidentally had a brilliant choice of good food.

If this is how the pub is to be run, poor choice of lunch food and only steak in the evenings, also overpriced, I can see it changing hands again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellinglgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Having relocated to Chippenham a few years I am always looking for somewhere great to eat out. I went to the Crown at Giddea Hall for the first time this week, and was really impressed. They are currently under new management, who are providing a great service and really lovely atmosphere. We enjoyed a great meal experience having steak served on a fantastic steak stone which I haven't seen before - I would definitely recommend trying out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasChipE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed there in October, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hubby got a private tour of local brewery which was excellent he said. Very welcoming and friendly owner, excellent food. Had the best hot chocolate my daughter has ever had! Would definitely recommend to fellow aussie travellors, and whenever we get back there would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Went here a couple of years ago and the service and food was fantastic went back last Sunday, and was not impressed food not available, service was not much to go by she was rude and wanted to get rid of us. Food was cold will not be returning

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Best_things1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went for Sunday lunch with my neighbours. Previous visit was a few months ago and we were very impressed with the quality and value of their 2 course lunch.
This time was a completely different experience. Both the main menu and the chalk boards had food that was not available when we tried to order. We opted for the Sunday roast but on arrival the roast potatoes were very overcooked and the vegetables were cold. Many other customers were complaining about the food they were receiving. We certainly will not be returning to eat there, or recommending it to anyone else. A very disappointed customer.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
4.3 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
390 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,047 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Giddea Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Giddea Hall

Address: Giddeahall, Chippenham SN14 7ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Giddea Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is set in the beautiful countryside very close to Castle Combe , yatton keynell and the outskirts of Chippenham. We are proud to serve locally sourced home cooked food created by our chefs. Lunch times Monday through Saturday 12 till 6 we have a fantastic lunchtime menu. Alongside the lunch menu we have our sandwich menu. In the evening we have a classic British menu with a twist serving dishes like beef and ale pie to guineafowl. We have 6 letting rooms available all with Room only rates or bed and breakfast as well as a dinner bed and breakfast rate . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown at Giddea Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Giddea Hall Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing