We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully maintained little park, very peaceful”
Review of John Coles Park

John Coles Park
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bath
Level Contributor
150 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained little park, very peaceful”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a small park. But VERY well maintained, an absolute credit to the grounds staff. The park has tennis courts, a basketball court, loos, a refreshment hut, kids play area, sensory garden, and area for dogs and markers for those wanting to run/walk/jog around a circuit and an attractive bandstand. All of this in a pretty small park. You don't get such good amenities in far larger parks. The grass and flowers are maintained to an exceptional standard. Definitely a nice place to go and sit on a nice day and lovely when it's less good weather for walking and running.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLawBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    32
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A PLEASANT PATCH OF GRASS IN A DIRE AND TURGID TOWN”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Lets be brutally honest, this park has high reviews only because it is the only attractive area in another wise dismal, turgid and run down town with absolutely nothing going for it.

The Park is pleasant enough in the summer, with a little cafe from which to get drinks and snacks and sufficient room to sunbathe without being disturbed by other uses - but at the end of the day it is what it is, a large patch of grass in an otherwise totally forgettable town.

You can spend a pleasant couple of hours here sunbathing with a good book - on leaving your options are either to get in your car and drive somewhere decent or walk around a town which has 10 charity shops, half a dozen gambling establishments, a multitude of pubs and a poundland - in other words a town for cheaply dressed gamblers with alcohol issues and penchant for cheap rubbish from Poundland.

Do yourself a favour - Give Chippenham a miss and visit Bath or Bristol - far classier and more interesting

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank BLT2010UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely little park”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I live very near here and go there often to take the dog for a walk or to take my grandchildren to enjoy the ply area. It is very well maintained ,tidy and safe and has a good little kiosk that opens most days serving economical drinks and ice creams. Just as you imagine a park should be!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was walking into town in Chippenham during my visit to Wiltshire when I discovered this little hidden gem.

I was quite intrigued by the what looked like a small park only to be amazed of how big and well kept it was.

It was definitely a delight to my morning. I had a lovely time walking around the park being greeted by the many pet owners and dogs walking around the park.

I especially enjoyed walking around the fountain and listening to the calming sound of this. With lovely flower arrangements the park is just what you need to have a short break from the noisy outside world.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldbackpackrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely in the Sun”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I go to the park all the time i live very near and its a nice little add on to my run too :) looking forward to taking my new puppy up there to meet people too

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Coles Park also viewed

 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
 

Been to John Coles Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing