We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #45 of 110 Restaurants in Chippenham
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
south west
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having seen the signs for Under New Management, we thought we would go along to see what it what they had on offer. A few years ago, the food there was excellent, with a lot of choice. However, this time it was very disappointing; the menu was limited and seemed to be not very good value for money. However, the wine was excellent value!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chipwilt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jay b, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review we now have a menu with a wide range which we like to change from season to season, we are pleased you enjoyed your wine and hope you will visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    13
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Only used this for lunch so far. It is under new management and we got a lovely welcome. The food is excellent, although the choice is a little limited - early days.

The kitchen served my grandson asap (wish all would do this) and the side salad was without the dressing for him - good attention to detail.

The food was served in good time, well presented and very tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltsGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jay b, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Painfully average”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I visit here with friends occasionally but only out of convenience for its location usually as it is only a couple of minutes drive from the M4.

The food is fresh and cooked onsite, so its immediately better than any of the pubs that serve ready-meals, it's just the menu is so small I'm always disappointed with the lack of choice or inspiration in any of the dishes.

There is a small bar area inside, a fair-sized conservatory for dinner and another small dining area near the bar, which is more like a cafe style of seating. There are a few tables out the front and some benches for eating out the back as well, although its less of a vista more of a concrete car park for a view.

Service is friendly and quick enough, though never anything special.

If you're stuck for choice then its not too bad but there are far better places to eat in the local area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

went to the plough for lunch on sunday to celebrate our anniversary. the service was excellent and the food cooked to perfection. prices for a sunday roast were very reasonable. would definitely recommend the plough to anyone wanting a great place with great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trek98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice and freshly cooked”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We visited this restaurant as we were staying in Plough Lane caravan site. My partner had just proposed and we decided to walk and try the food here. They made a huge fuss of us and made us feel very welcome. We chose a lovely table and ordered a lovely bottle of house róse, which was very good. We shared the garlic mushrooms which was awesome and then my fiance had the vegetarian stroganoff and I had scampi. Both were lovely. We are visiting again this weekend and will definitely be visiting :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 
Giddeahall, Chippenham
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing