We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food and service”
Review of The Westbrook

The Westbrook
Ranked #10 of 111 Restaurants in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calne Wiltshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quality food and service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have eaten at this restaurant several times mainly for Sunday lunch, recently went for an evening meal, wow our meal was excellent my wife had a stuffed tenderloin dish that was unbelievable and my rib eye steak with garlic prawns was as good as I have ate anywhere in the world.

Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saint123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    32
    24
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bit Pricey For Average Food!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stopped by chance as we were hungry and noticed a full car park. Turns out that there was just one large party eating and all the cars belonged to them.
Pleasant enough place and greeting and pretty little garden. But for us it stops there!
Belly pork a little overdone with crackling that didn’t taste quite right. Same for the liver, little overdone. Mash and vegetables (broccoli aside which had been crucified) all ok and tasty.
But for £10 for the liver & £15 for the pork we expected better things.
I’m sure that now having chance to read other reviews we must have picked a bad day!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wessexwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening but a lengthy wait.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had pretty high expectations from reading previous reviews and a seeing a very busy car park was a good sign. Our friends had booked us a table for a set time and we arrived in good time. After being served drinks at the bar we were ushered to the side seating area of the bar.Being a warm evening this was fine with us but at no point were we told there was a delay with our table and we would be waiting for such a long time. The staff were deep in conversation with other people in the bar and we felt we were just left to ourselves.We were brought menus whilst in the bar area and there was a lot of choice. We joked that maybe we would be eating off our laps as no one explained when we would be seated at a table ! The food was fresh, well cooked good quality and good value but the initial service let us down and there are other places that have blown us away with the service and exceptional food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeple Ashton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch - Excellent”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recently visited The Westbrook for Sunday lunch, wow, it was fantastic. Best meal out we have had in a long time. We had roast beef, which was tender and succulent, home made yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes, cabbage, broccoli and new season carrots - delicious!
Cant wait to return and try out the new menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice overall, service could be more polished”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Dined with friends on a Saturday night. On arrival we were greeted with the car park being full which was a good sign - good job we had phoned ahead. Quaint building and decor in the bar area. We ordered drinks - the barmaid had not heard of Disaranno! and then were ushered to a side area where we could make our dinner choices. The view of the beer garden in the summer evening was quite delightful. 30 minutes later and we were waiting to be ushered to our table, unable to catch the eye of the waitress of landlady. Eventually our order was taken and we were still left in the side area not knowing what was happening, we appreciate this is an older method of serving customers but haven't experienced this for eons. We were eventually ushered to our seats. The dining area, although just the other side of the bar had a different ambience, more upmarket. Our meals were then brought to us promptly. The food was good, hot and tasty and overall was of a reasonable quality. The lemon ice cream cake was immensely tasty. The chocolate brownie, although rich and also tasty was very soft and came across as not being set, it had did not have any firmness to it. Overall a pleasant experience. Reasonably priced - even with a £5 discount voucher available on there website. Would return in the future but there are other places that have much more appeal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chippenhamged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westbrook also viewed

Bromham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Bromham, Wiltshire
Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 

Been to The Westbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing