We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Bickley Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bickley Mill
Ranked #2 of 22 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our second visit - a year apart - but just as good as before - great service, excellent food and extremely clean and comfortable accommodation = thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    70
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
110
157
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I returned to the wonderful Bickley Mill for a one night stay on Saturday 3rd March.As with our previous stay everything was outstanding,from the youngman who checked us in and showed us to our room,to the bar and waiting staff.Our room was presented to a very high standard with lots of lovely touches.We ate dinner in the hotel which was great wih a varied menu and food very well presented.The full English breakfast on Sunday morning was a relaxing start to the day.I cannot recommend this little gem more highly and will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Book a table for dinner as it gets very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLODRATSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport newport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

In a secluded spot a comfortable pub,good beer and food!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just had our wedding at Bickley mill last weekend and would like to thank all the staff for helping to make it the best day of our lives. The food was great and it was the prefect setting for our wedding. All the staff were so helpful and kind and so many of our guests commented on how great the reception room looked. We used all the bedrooms which were decorated to a high standard and had a yummy breakfast in the morning.

The company Crystal Covers provided an extra touch to the room with their fantastic chair covers and our acoustic duo The Hares were brilliant at getting everyone up dancing and gave everyone a fantastic time.

Thanks again to everyone at Bickley mill, we will see you again shortly for another great meal and to reminisce about our special day. Sal and Steve

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartoonfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We booked last minute and got the last room at the Inn ! Lovely log fire in the bar as we arrived.The bedroom was excellent bed really comfortable slept like a log. Dinner was also excellent as was breakfast the next morning just cannot fault it. The staff were all very happy helpful and professional. Can't wait to visit again. Thank you to Matt and his staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingskerswell, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we have visited the bickley mill inn a few times before however this visit was the best we have ever had and we cant wait to return.

we did not stay in the bedrooms so i can not comment

the staff were all really freindly and the service was excellent the food was to die for, i
had the lamb shank it was very nicely presented & tasted amazing.

the menu was very reasonably priced @ £35.00 per head 5 courses and with a welcome drink not bad at all.
all our family enjoyed their meals and our waitress was very helpful.

to sum up our evening

brilliant night out with the family ...... excellent food and service / very caring staff / have an excellent chef and one more quick note just to say a massive thank you to matt the manager for making our night so special and thank you to all the staff who were working

well done see you again very soon

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDiesel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I had to stay in Newton Abbot for work purposes and I had been warned that the most local hotel was pretty grim. I found this little gem on the internet, the food was fabulous, rooms beautifully clean, modern but still full of charm and character and the staff warm and friendly. It was definitely worth the few miles travel into Newton Abbot. If staying in this area for pleasure or a respite, I would absolutely reccomend this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
3.8 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
341 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
78 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Old Church House Inn
Old Church House Inn
#4 of 22 in Newton Abbot
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bickley Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bickley Mill

Property: The Bickley Mill
Address: Stoneycombe | Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot TQ12 5LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bickley Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 13 En-suite bedrooms are individually styled with crisp white linen and home comforts. Each room is fully equipped with Flat Screen television with DVD player, free wireless broadband access, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Separate accommodation entrance for ease of access at all times. Traditional cooked breakfast using local produce. Bathrooms are a delight, with modern contemporary fittings, fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bickley Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bickley Mill Hotel Newton Abbot
The Bickley Mill Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing