We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of The Bickley Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bickley Mill
Ranked #2 of 22 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Unfortunately we didn't stay the night - so will definitely return to do this. We did however book a table for a evening meal, which was delicious and well worth every penny, great choice and all fresh, we had our four year old granddaughter with us, the children's meal was also excellent . The staff were very pleasant and helpful, very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    69
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
109
155
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was lovely and very comfortable, we will be back.

On arrival it's was very peaceful and beautiful, inside followed. All the staffed said hello, quick check in. Room was lovely, good size for us with a 10 month baby, so clean.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as we wanted a light meal, we had a cheese board and a couple of sides in the bar. Very yummy and the staff were happy for us to do so as there isn't a bar menu.

Relaxing bathroom and a good shower. Slept perfectly in our fluffy crisp bed.

Breakfast did not disappoint, yummy again and the chef was happy to make our son a little omelette for his breakfast, which was nice to him join us for cooked breakfast.

Can't wait to return,thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in the dartmoor room, lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonib29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Bickley Mill in April for 5 nights and were delighted in our choice. Whilst I made a cursory glance at Trip Advisor before booking, I felt that it satisfied all our requirements; an old establishment in a rural location, full of character, with very good food and service. We were absolutely correct in our choice and therefore I am pleased to be able to reflect our positive experiences through Trip Advisor. So this review is not only to thank the Hotel and it's staff for everything they did, but to also to help future customers in their choice. The reason I say this, is that as often seems the case in today's World there are a select number of people who feel compelled to criticise a worthy establishment for inconsequential reasons. Whether, in this case this is a Devonian trait or simply local individuals with a vested interest in pulling down the competition.

As soon as you step inside the Bickley Mill you can tell that this Hotel is personally run by the owners. The staff were incredibly helpful, the accommodation was tastefully decorated with an excellent bathroom and shower and the food was excellent. The Hotel restaurant was always full and despite the large number of covers being served, we enjoyed hot, delicious food that was always served with a smile - congratulations to the Head Chef and staff involved.

Thank you for everything you did to make our 5 night stay, a Five Star experience.

Martin Smith

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

fab food and service.very helpfull ,lovely staff. comfy beds peacefull area.receptionist very helpfull and pleasant. would definately recommend it. restaurant very good really enjoyed meal. nice place to go exploring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bessy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended and worth every penny.

The service was top class, the welcome exactly what we needed and the rooms excellent. Comfy beds, toiletries and and abundance of refreshments. None of this , you can only have two cups of tea or coffee business. We stayed in the family room in the converted loft space. Not recommended for those who struggle with the stairs as quite steep. I do struggle, but for me it was worth it.

Following my mum's funeral we needed peace, tranquility and understanding. We got all of that tenfold. I only wish we had had more time to enjoy it.

The breakfast was superb, I chose the omelette and I look forward to returning at happier times and dining there.

Thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality. Rebecca, Jason and Simon.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The Bickley Mill saved us from a terrible night at a well known hotel! I spoke to them late at night to arrange the next days check in. The guy on phone was so helpful and we were booked to stay there the following night in there last available room.
They allowed us to check in at 9:30am. We arrived 20 minutes after they had stopped serving breakfast. Ahhhhh, we were starving as escaped from our previous accommodation as quickly as we could. Hayley, probably one of the most genuinely welcoming person I have ever met, sorted us out with coffee, toast and cereal and showed us to our room. The room was nice. It was the last one so no view or balcony but it was fine. Absolutely great value at £95. It was clean and the bed was comfy and that's what we wanted for our very short stay in Devon.

Breakfast was good although get up early or you'll miss it!

The location and the staff make this place. They are all so friendly. Hayley, especially you!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorlor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We rang to book a table and 2.45 and we got there about ten minutes late. We were told the kitchen was closing so we had to quickly order our food, which was absolutely fine with us. When we got our food, my fish was uncooked, so we told the staff, which came and took meal away . All they did was stuck it in microwave !! Felt very disappointed as I've had previous meals and they've been great. The meals aren't cheap either . Would think twice about returning !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Owner at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Jenny M
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on your recent visit. I am sorry that the fish was slightly undercooked, I wish to clarify that on no occasion would we ever put fish in a microwave. It was placed in our Rational oven which cooks at a very high temperature. We wouldn't get the reviews and customers that we do get if we cooked our fish in a microwave! I also wish to state that I wouldn't be employing a Chef whom would send out food undercooked because he was in a hurry to leave work!
I am sorry if this incident has put you off coming again, we served over 100 covers on Sunday lunchtime and it is very unfortunate for us that the only negative comment we have got happens to be the person who reviews us on Trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
5.0 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bickley Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bickley Mill

Property: The Bickley Mill
Address: Stoneycombe | Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot TQ12 5LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bickley Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 13 En-suite bedrooms are individually styled with crisp white linen and home comforts. Each room is fully equipped with Flat Screen television with DVD player, free wireless broadband access, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Separate accommodation entrance for ease of access at all times. Traditional cooked breakfast using local produce. Bathrooms are a delight, with modern contemporary fittings, fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bickley Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bickley Mill Hotel Newton Abbot
The Bickley Mill Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing