We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Friendly and lovely and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Abbot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brown's Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 24 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Friendly and lovely and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed here for work, but what a great find. Lovely comfortable quiet rooms, an amazing view and wonderful hosts. Breakfast had fresh fruit an choice of quality cereals, and dont forget a great full English. Would absolutely recommend to anyone, whether business or short break.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyClark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

What a pleasure it was to stay at the Homelands. A lovely welcome, a delightful room, and the most delicious breakfast in a charming dining room. We shall certainly return.
Previously when visiting this area we have stayed in hotels, but this was a much more enjoyable experience.
Mr and Mrs Dawes - Wolverhampton

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Made to feel very welcome. Room lovely and clean with little extras like robes, slippers and coffee/tea making facilities. More than enough breakfast and was not rushed at all. Definately would go back and would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBeezknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

I would highly recommend this B&B.
The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious and the views are stunning.
Breakfast was plentiful with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, followed by a full english breakfast which was very nice.
The owners of this establishment are very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help.
We would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenTighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Visited Newton Abbott for the Tuckers Maltings Beer festival. Our stay in this guesthouse was simply faultless. From the stunning view over the town, to the clean, homely room, to the friendly and warm welcome extended to us. I cannot recommend this guesthouse enough.

The house is filled with warmth, character and charm. A generous cooked breakfast is served at a large dining table, with more stunning views outside from the adjoining balcony. Lucy (family pet dog) is always nearby but well behaved. The room itself (we stayed in a twin room) is spacious and light, equipped with kettle, tea, filter coffee, FRESH milk and even a couple of glasses and a bottle of wine. There are bath robes, slippers and plenty of towels for 2. The bathroom is clean and equipped with a good shower, sink and toilet.

All in all this will be the place we come back to whenever we visit Newton Abbott!

Room Tip: 131 steps from the town to the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Observer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is the second time myself and my partner have visited the Browns Guesthouse.
We have stayed in many places all over the world and this has to be one of our favourites.
Beautiful rooms, amazing views, sumptuous breakfast and wonderful hosts!
This really is a 1st class place to stay, what a wonderful find!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle-under-lyme
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

We only stopped for one night, But would highly recommend this lovely quiet guest house to anyone who expects a very clean elegantly decorated en-suite room. The bed we had was a king size and very comfatable. Lots of clean towels, bathrobe and slippers, Tea coffee and chocalate refreshments, also a small bottle of wine and glasses, no need to drink out of the toothpaste mug!!! We even had fresh milk delivered for the tea.
The owners were very freindly, we felt like we had known them for years. Breakfast was fantastic, lots and lots of cereal not just the usuall kellogs etc, lots of organic musli and fresh fruit ie, strawberrys grapes melon. A full english to follow or poached egg and tomatoes with your own bread as I had, with being on a strange diet, the owners were very obliging. Thaks for that.!, lots of jams honey and marmalade, there must have been ten whole jars.with mixed toast. Lets put it this way if I was staying for a week I would have to diet before stayinging in this little gem, just so I could still button my trousers when leaving.
One last thing The View si stunning from the bedroom and from the balcony off the Dinning room. You see the whole of Newton Abbott. Well worth a visit.............. We will be back soon!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Keyberry
The Keyberry
#6 of 24 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown's Guesthouse

Property: The Brown's Guesthouse
Address: 10 Courtenay Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Brown`s Guesthouse Hotel Newton Abbot
The Brown's Guesthouse Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing