We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover on a quick trip to Devon”
Review of Rock House

Rock House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Abbot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rock House
Ranked #8 of 22 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Newbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stopover on a quick trip to Devon”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed here for just one night with my Mum and baby, we really enjoyed our stay. The location was very convenient for our purposes and we had a fabulous big room with a beautiful ensuite, very tastefully decorated and with everything we needed. We enjoyed our breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the pretty garden. With a warm welcome and beautiful room, we would definitely return again, thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazeyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Rock House is conveniently located in reach of many attractions. Alison & Brian provide a hospitable welcome, comfortable rooms, local info and delicious breakfasts (Brian's omelettes are heavenly!). We'll recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A warm welcome, great service, comfortable bed and cosy room. An excellent breakfast added to the personal touches that included interesting and practical information about the area and very good contacts. Brian's beautiful pencil drawings are a delight to look at. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yallingup, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The upstairs room in the newly renovated wing was luxurious and warm, with a particularly comfortable bed. Good breakfast, the full cooked is recommended for those with a lot of walking to do. Even free wifi if you stand in the right spot to get through the lovely thick stone walls.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1veStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend had a pleasure to stay in Rock House B&B on the way back home after long and trying travelling around Europe. Thanks to the excellent and very comfortable conditions, warm and friendly hospitality and the great food that was served we felt like at home and really enjoyed our stay. We recommend Rock House B&B to everyone!
Hanna and John

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here with our baby daughter and had a really lovely break. We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely and the room was extremely comfortable, clean and well maintained. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just returned from a week in the Rock House Cottage. We felt very much at home.
It was well equipped, the bed was very comfortable and there was a lovely private garden. The lounge is upstairs and is very large and has good views over the garden and countryside. The cottage is well positioned to be able to access many local resorts and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. We would certainly recommend the Rock House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
4.4 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
341 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Keyberry
The Keyberry
#5 of 22 in Newton Abbot
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 22 in Newton Abbot
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
245 reviews
3.0 mi away
Old Church House Inn
Old Church House Inn
#4 of 22 in Newton Abbot
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Property: Rock House
Address: Rock House Maddacombe Road | Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot TQ12 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Grade II listed Georgian home and attached coach house conversion set on rural fringe of village in lovely gardens Both rooms have views over the gardens and village/countryside beyond. Delicious breakfasts, organic where possible, from local producers and our own prizewinning homemade preserves, served in our conservatory overlooking the garden. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rock House Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing