We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not dog friendly!”

The Richard Hopkins
Ranked #73 of 127 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not dog friendly!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We went & took our dog there hoping to have breakfast. We understand that dogs are not allowed inside so we opted to sit outside. It seems dogs are not allowed there either! We left not purchasing anything!

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Richard_Hopkins, Manager at The Richard Hopkins, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi, i am very sorry to hear this feedback and do understand some restaurants do alllow dogs in their outside areas, but unfortunately due to the lack of space and the policies we adhere to im afraid we can't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    75
    48
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wednesday Lunch with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Popped into Witherspoon in Newton Abbot for a quick lunch with my Daughter and Grand Son had a very enjoyable lunch, which arrived very quickly after ordering and was of a good standard and quality even though the pub was packed out, the staff were very helpful and welcoming and we will definitely be returning in the near future prices are also very affordable and very good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suz1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cheap breakfast that tastes OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a pub that serves a cheap breakfast and is plenty big enough for a larger group. We have used it for years as a place to grab a quick bite as a group before a days meetings. If a no fuss breakfast is what you want at minimal cost, give it a go.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brakefast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in local hotel that didn't do a full English so they suggested going there.
Very nice and very reasonable on price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

visited this Wetherspoons pub on the Curry night, nice choice of curries and a drink for £6.99 , Chicken tikka massalla and Lamb Rogan Josh were our choices, the food came very quickly considering how busy it was and it was hot and tasty, good value pub grub

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank webboWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Richard Hopkins also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to The Richard Hopkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing