We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night to break our journey up to st ives for new year.
what a welcome. we were made to feel very special indeed. fabulous barn conversion where we stayed. photos attached.. food was fab in the restaurant and the breakfast to die for. shame we couldnt have stayed longer. we have a restaurant in cyprus. and just wish we werent so far away
otherwise would happily spend several weekends a year their.. great great place, a must if you are in devon.. thanks again for your fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: the barn was great sleeps four adults and two kids. or six adults two double one twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efendioliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

It always makes me smile to see that somebody had a fantastic time staying with us hear at Sampsons but to see Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic put a big smile on my face. Thankyou for such kind words and hopefully we will see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Luke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here before, back in 2009 for a romantic valentines break. Based on the fantastic time we had back then, we thought that we would return and do the same for New Year. I'm sorry to say that we were quite disappointed. The room was lovely, bed was really comfy. At the time of booking, I was told that for New Year there would be a nice bottle of bubbly in the room, not there. Then checking, they were offering just one glass of bubbly come 12 midnight, oh well. The food was mediocre. They said that a fish menu would be available, when we were waiting in the lounge their wasn't any mention of any fish on the menu, the only choice was either Chicken, Duck or Beef! Now I am really positive that what I had back in 2009 was the same choice for New Year! We were not offered any little niceties before our meal like we had before, nor any nice little chocolates with our coffee for afterwards, considering it was a special occasion like New Year. We retired to the lounge and we were the only ones there until about 10.30. We were twiddling our thumbs come 12 midnight, but determined to see the New Year in. Fantastic breakfast and service, but the rest was disappointing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam_Jay-EVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a 5 night break between Xmas & New Year & couldn't have asked for a friendly place to stay. The staff were without exception excellent, nothing was too much trouble, our room was comfortable with views out across the fields & hills beyond & we enjoyed seeing the chickens, geese, ducks and goats wandering around the farm.
Cooked breakfast was delicious with a couple of more unusual option of eggs Benedict & smoked salmon & scrambled egg on a muffin (both delicious) plus the usual full English. The evening meal included a option of the tastiest lamb I have ever eaten. Veg of the day was the same every night so i would have liked to have seen a bit of variety, maybe every other day. Puddings were home made & didn't disappoint. We didn't get to meet the owner & his artist wife as they were away at the time of our visit but we enjoyed Sarah's art work immensely.
We will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend a stay here. Oh and most important for us, it's dog friendly too
One change i would make if the place was mine would be to rearrange the seating in the lounge area. I felt as if i were sitting in a train carriage! I appreciate it is a small area and difficult to get the optimum number of seats in but it is a gorgeous room with a roaring fire & could feel cosier with a reshuffle. I think the main problem is the 2 pews back to back. 2 sofas back to back wouldn't create the barrier that the pews do so i would try and find a way to put the pews back against the walls somewhere. Obviously this didn't affect my enjoyment of our visit to any extent or scoring but hopefully it is useful to have an objective viewpoint.

Room Tip: We had the penthouse suite which is a lovely large room, huge bed and a sitting area, complete with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thankyou for writing such a lovely review as it always makes myself and the staff (including the goats and chickens) here know that we are doing the best we can to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. We hope to see you again soon and thankyou again for your kind comments.
Kind regards

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Sampsons Farm and feel totally refreshed and relaxed. This is a very quaint property that offers total relaxation with great staff, exactly what we wanted after a very hectic Christmas.
From check in to check out we could not find fault, we were shown to our room which had a bed that was not best suited to myself as I have a back problem. There were absolutely no questions asked and we were offered a different room immediately. The young lady in question (Laura I believe), checked and double checked that the second room was to our satisfaction before leaving us to settle.
I would have rated the hotel as excellent but there is just a little too much noise from neighbouring rooms to put in the that category. Please do not let this put you off, it is a well converted farmhouse/barns property and this is the only thing I could be even faintly critical of.
Our thanks to all of the staff for making our stay a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thankyou so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Sampsons and I am very glad that your visit was a positive one. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We chose Sampson's Farm for our brief stay based entirely on the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. The booking process proved complicated enough however our main problems hit when we arrived. After a long search I managed to find someone to book us in, she was reluctant to show us to our accommodation because it had just started raining. She wanted us to wait until it had stopped. This was September in Devon, it hasn't stopped raining yet! The room was unsatisfactory on so many levels, starting with filthy bed coverings which were changed when I pointed them out to the member of staff. The television remote had no batteries in it, so that wasted much time. The design of the room was such that my husband hit his head on the TV stand every time he went to fill or switch on the kettle (he is of average height). We found the bed incredibly uncomfortable - very soft mattress, I realise that is a matter of taste. We ate there on our first evening, having pre-booked. It was a steak "deal" which proved to be poor to average. It was the attitude of the staff which I found most irksome. It seems that they are trying to project some sort of "high class" image of the establishment, but failing miserably. We probably are unusual guests for here in that we had travelled up from Cornwall and know the area fairly well so were really not impressed by the forced West Country-ness (apologies for inventing a word). Breakfast on our first morning was so appalling that I knew better than to eat it, my husband was ill for the rest of the day and we simply did not bother to go to breakfast for our other two mornings. I suppose I may be overly upset because we do not have the opportunity to travel much at all these days so any trip is hugely important to me. But, honestly, the only good bit was that the animals broke out of their enclosures one afternoon, led by a couple of firey goats, and the ensuing chaos and photographic opportunities were hilarious. I so much wanted to like this place, obviously because I wanted an enjoyable break, but I genuinely cannot recommend Sampson's Farm and am bewildered by the prevalence of first class reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not the best and for that I can only extend my sincerest apologies. If you would like to contact me at Sampsons Farm I would be more than happy to discuss your concerns.

Kind regards

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have always found Sampsons Farm to be a delight to visit, whether it is for a light meal or several courses. We have been going for many years now for a trip out with family and friends or for those special occasions and have never been disappointed. The staff and management are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It is set in an idyllic surrounding, which adds to the whole ambience of the visit. We recommend this lovely place to all our friends and family, who have also been and return many times. As it is a family run establishment, we find the quality and attention to detail hard to beat!! They have a lovely log fire for the colder days, where you can sit and have an aperitif or two before going in to the restaurant to have your meal. The cottage has a quirkiness to it and is not too crowded with tables - only a few in each room to give it a more personal effect and experience. If we could give Sampsons Farm a higher rating than the 5 then we would say 10 - OUTSTANDING!! Thank you Nigel and Sarah, best wishes Caroline and Anne XXX

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Many thanks for sharing your kind words. It is always our aim to look after people and make them feel welcome here with us and it is a pleasure to us that we did not dissapoint on this occasion .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This 15th.century thatched farmhouse restaurant is an absolute joy. Oak beams, roaring fires and superb food is a must, this coupled with attentive and caring staff makes this a dining experience not to be missed. It's rural aspect coupled with its quiet elegance emphasises the overall quality of this wonderful hotel and restaurant and to dine on food locally sourced with wine carefully selected by its owners is a revelation. To sit while studying the menu in the comfort of its atmospheric surroundings while sipping a glass of wine or an aperitif in front of a roaring log fire while studying the extensive menu is something which belongs to a era which has long since become a thing of the past and In an age where portion controlled meals and indifferent service has become the norm, it is refreshing to be transported back in time to an age where excellent food, service and superb wines are offered as the norm. Superb.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

How happy we are that you appreciated all that sampsons can offer and your kind words mean alot to us. We pride ourselves on our welcoming hospitality and only aim to look after people and we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
2.0 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
23.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
346 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
597 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
112 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Cridford Inn
The Cridford Inn
#1 of 1 in Trusham
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range: £20 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sampsons Farm Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing