We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Macdonald would have been proud!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Plymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old Macdonald would have been proud!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I are part of a fairly large family and while we do look forward to Christmas and New Year with our children and grandchildren, I must admit that it does at times get a little (!) chaotic. I seem to end up surrounded by instruction books and batteries while my poor wife seems to spend hours chained to the oven. So when the festive dust settles and January rears its wet and windy head, we are more than ready to get away from it all and lick our wounds.
We live in Plymouth so when we noticed an advertisement in our local paper for a short break at Sampson's Farm in Newton Abbot (less than an hour away), we packed our bags and hit the road.
Not having stayed there before, we didn't know what to expect, although the many reviews on TA were by and large very favourable. Sadly, the weather was not, but on our arrival we were made very welcome by the owner Nigel and were shown to our room in the barn conversion...........and a very nice room it was. Not particularly large but very warm and cosy, with French blue woodwork and matching striped linen. Add to this a neat bathroom with complimentary toiletries and a small terrace (which would be lovely when the rain stopped) and we were more than happy. The roaring log fire in the hotel lounge gave us an extra dollop of icing on an already large cake.
Weather permitting, Sampson's Farm is perfectly placed for the adventurous tourist - The English Riviera (Torquay etc.), Dartmoor and Exeter are all within easy reach and many more local landmarks are only a day trip away.
We had booked our stay on half board and we were so glad we did. The food here is truly excellent. In fact I believe the place made a name for itself as a restaurant with rooms before it became a country hotel. Our evening meals and breakfasts were all terrific. Local produce (including their own eggs) and a top notch chef. Enough said.
Lousy weather......yes. Do I recommend Sampson's............as Old M. himself would say..........E-I-E-I-O!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the end of the barn conversion. Not very large but cosy and has all you need includi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilfPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
It is always wonderful to read reviews from our guests and even more so when the time is taken to tell myself and the rest of the staff here how much of an enjoyable time you have had. On behalf of the staff here at Sampsons Farm thankyou for taking the time to detail what made your stay with us all the more special. See you again soon.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    77
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
189
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sampsons Farm on a cold, wet, blustery February weekend, but there was nothing cold about the welcome we received. Good service may be old-fashioned but it's never gone out of style at this charming thatched farmhouse, and you get the impression that while there's breath left in Nigel's body that will never change.
We stayed in a double downstairs room in the barn conversion, a cosy comfortable ensuite with its own decked patio area. Sadly the weather wasn't good enough to take advantage of the outside seating and gaze out over the orchard and fields with the free range poultry scratching around and working on my breakfast egg. Maybe next time?
We took dinner in the farmhouse dining room the first night of our stay, and it was gorgeous, perfectly cooked and full of flavour. Breakfast the next morning was also superb, fresh and tasty, and we had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of the resident artist, Sarah, who is responsible for the many exuberant pictures of chickens hanging everywhere.
Sampsons Farm is a real family affair, and they all seemed to actually care that we had an enjoyable stay - most refreshing. It's very conveniently located too, not far from Newton Abbot and all the attractions of South Devon but tucked away in a little corner of countryside so that it still feels like rural living.
I want to come back in spring or summer now, to enjoy an ice cream outside, or a proper Devon cream tea? Definitely another meal in the restaurant, and maybe the chance to stay in the hayloft conversion with the pretty balcony and the huge bed! And another breakfast to look forward to, with the freshest eggs you can imagine. Thank you to the whole team for giving us the best start to our holiday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank megtheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
It is always wonderful to read reviews from our guests and even more so when the time is taken to tell myself and the rest of the staff here how much of an enjoyable time you have had. On behalf of the staff here at Sampsons Farm thankyou for taking the time to detail what made your stay with us all the more special. See you again soon.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just spent the best part of a month at Sampsons Farm. Its a magical place and we were a little worried about the weather but it is still full of charm and the open fire is even more welcoming.

Thanks again to all of the staff you make you feel very welcome and really look after you. Excellent food at the restaurant which we said we wouldn't have as we went self catering in the Dartmoor View Cottage - but you have to eat there as the food is so good!

The hotel is ideally placed to see a lot of Devon - Paignton, Brixham, Totnes, Bovey Tracey, Teignmouth and Dawlish are all easily reached so we never got board and believe it or not it was actually warm enough to walk around in a t shirt on one of the saturdays early in the year.

We will be back

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dartmoor view cottage which is very nicely decorated and has a great view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTurnerGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thankyou very much for your kind words it always makes me smile to see when guests have an enjoyable and memorable time. Have a fantastic day and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I have been here a couple of times as a friend of mine lives just down the road.
The owner Nigel I found to be a great host and very friendly.
We had a couple of cream teas in summer 2013 and it was one of the best I have had with generous amounts of cream, jam and scones.
We celebrated this January 2014 for my friends 50th and had a really good time with a great crab cocktail, lamb main course and some lovely cheese.
This isn't London fine dining with smoke and bubbles but good honest cooking served in a warm environment and served with a smile.
As a holiday destination you are in the perfect spot off the main roads but near everything.
It's not to everyone's taste as it is a bit oldy woldy but it's not sanitized and characterless.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a Groupon deal . The place is a bit quirky and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good and the cream tea was delicious. The bedroom was quite spacious and had a zip and link bed. The only thing that detracted from its charm was the linings in our room hanging below the curtains and there were a couple of light bulbs not working in the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thankyou very much for your kind words and I am very glad that your stay here was an enjoyable and memorable one. We have already improved on the aspects you mentioned (including some new light bulbs) and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 night break at the very start of January. Our room (Room 5) was very comfortable and well furnished and the whole place had a lovely country feel to it. The staff here are fantastic - we received a very warm welcome from Luke (and also spent a late Saturday evening chatting away with him in the lounge) and also the rest of the staff who we met (Nigel & Sarah I think). A special thank you also to Luke's dad Bruno (head chef) who gave us a fantastic pub recommendation for our walk over Dartmoor on our first full day, as well as several different places to visit. Bruno's breakfasts are so tasty and made with fresh local ingredients, including eggs from their chickens! It really is lovely walking around the place and seeing Sarah's artwork everywhere - it really does add to the ambient feel. The chickens, ducks, geese and goats are wonderful and it's lovely to see them wandering around. The place is so quiet and peaceful - we were one of only three guests staying at the time.

My only recommendation would be to rearrange the lounge furniture, as recommended in the previous review from Alison W - the open fire is such a feature and it would be lovely if the chairs were rearranged to allow easier access to it. Even though we visited during Winter, you can see what a wonderful place it is and we look forward to returning during the Summer. Thank you again to all the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which is in the main house. Although it is a good size and very comfortable, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Good afternoon Fiona,
I am very glad that I could assist in making a memorable stay with us at Sampsons. On behalf of Dad, Mr.Bell, the staff, chickens and goats here at Sampsons thankyou for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girne north cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night to break our journey up to st ives for new year.
what a welcome. we were made to feel very special indeed. fabulous barn conversion where we stayed. photos attached.. food was fab in the restaurant and the breakfast to die for. shame we couldnt have stayed longer. we have a restaurant in cyprus. and just wish we werent so far away
otherwise would happily spend several weekends a year their.. great great place, a must if you are in devon.. thanks again for your fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: the barn was great sleeps four adults and two kids. or six adults two double one twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efendioliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
It always makes me smile to see that somebody had a fantastic time staying with us hear at Sampsons but to see Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic put a big smile on my face. Thankyou for such kind words and hopefully we will see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Luke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
2.0 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Property: Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sampsons Farm Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing