We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hollands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Hollands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fantastic friendly and caring family run hotel, there was not a single thing to find fault with. The room in the old farmhouse was a bit quirky as you would expect but it was immaculately clean, peaceful and comfortable. The hosts and staff were very attentive, accommodating, helpful and most importantly friendly and welcoming. Luke, Nigel and the lovely lady from Teignmouth [sorry can't remember your name] immediately made us feel at home and found time to chat and cheer us up. Only had breakfast there and that filled us up for the day, compliments to the chef [Nigel]. We were on a 'working' break but Sampsons is well situated for walks , towns and drives to beaches. Certainly hope they can fit us in again next time we make a 'flying' trip to Devon. Thank you so much for your lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
hi
Thanks for your review and comment. it is so important for me that customers feel special and go away thinking that they have benn well looked after..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    77
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
189
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I can't remember how we managed to stumble on this place, but I'm so glad we did. It's also a little difficult to describe with any degree of accuracy. I've seen the word "Quirky" used a few times, and I can understand the reason why. This charming and very old farmhouse, has a homely lived in feel, with a cleverly blended mixture of the old and the new. Lots of well used comfortable tat, and furniture, smokey chimney's, old paintings hanging at slight angles on the walls, and a selection of new paintings by the obviously very talented resident artist, Sarah.

Nothing pretentious about the food menu either. How refreshing to be able to select from a plain speaking menu and know what your getting. Yes, the food is probably sourced locally, freshly cooked and by a chef who understands the meaning of good food.

The staff were lovely and always attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The location is just perfect for tranquility and surrounded by lovely walks.

You'd be hard pressed to find anything remotely similar is this country. We will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
hello
Appreciate your review, it has been 30 years and before that my Mum ran the BB, I try and create a warmth and a feeling of years gone by.just old fashion service with a big smile.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a wedding party which was an amazing experience. Luke and Nigel made us feel like part of the family and nothing was too much effort. I can not fault the attention and help they gave us. The rooms were great, the food fantastic and the setting was very relaxed. It was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
hello
you have just summed up what Sampsons is about.A big thank you.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here following a hard day working in Bideford and found the beds to be really comfortable. The hosts were so helpful.
The breakfast was out of this world - cooked to perfection and with eggs from the farm. Unfortunately, the restaurant was shut when I stayed there, but I was directed to a most pleasant public house where the food was good and the beer even better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
hello
thanks for your comments, we have been trying to improve on people experience with us , and the beds make a big difference to ones stay..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I've just returned from a fantastic and relaxing trip to Sampsons with my boyfriend. We wanted a trip away from the stress of London life and we got that exactly! Such a fantastic location, with beautiful walks and so peaceful and tranquil. The restaurant was lovely, as was the bar area with the roaring fire. The room was cosy and clean and we had a great nights sleep.

Nigel was very welcoming, giving us advice on walks to do and places to visit. We loved Luke who served us at the restaurant, very attentive service and such a friendly guy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmap1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
hello
thanks for taking the time to give us a review. the river walks are great, very peaceful and just on our doorstep.
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a lovely 3 day break in March with the family. Booked two rooms and found the whole place to be quirky, homely, welcoming with great food and plenty of chat over a few drinks in front of the fire. Nigel and Sarah plus the friendly staff made the whole trip enjoyable and will definitely take my rackets down next time to take up Nigels offer of a game of racket ball.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Second time I have stayed here in the last 2 months. It was the same nice warm feeling when we checked in. Room was the same which we requested, so very pleased. It was clean and tidy, sadly the cobwebs were still there though. The fireside room was as inviting and nicely puffed cushions and food standard was the same although the meal choice was the same on both nights never the less it was tasty. Staff were helpful and happy and have local knowledge which I found helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenN217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Property: Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sampsons Farm Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing