We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great meal”
Review of The Pizza Cafe

The Pizza Cafe
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican, Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Now in our 29th year of serving the best pizza you will ever taste.Open all day every day.Takeaway and home delivery service also available.Check us out you will love us.Now something of an institution in these parts.Taste of the West Gold Award 2015.Shortlisted for The Independent Pizza Restaurant of The Year Awards 2015(Pizza and Pasta Association)Loo of the year 2105 Gold
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We try to eat at The Pizza Cafe at least once a month and I am a member of the loyalty scheme, which gives you a Birthday voucher (collected from the cafe) and you accumulate a value each time you visit that can be used to pay for a future meal. Bargain! I agree with other posts that some tables are a bit close together, but the staff are so accommodating and will move tables if possible to suit your party. The best time to avoid excessive noise is after the lunch time rush, which is when we tend to go. Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    94
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Friendly Service, Amazing Food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The nicest people serving great food, chilli was to die for :-), I felt really valued as a customer and nothing was too much trouble from the genuine friendly staff. The best place I have ever eaten.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NixterJaspety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doughboy54, Owner at The Pizza Cafe, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for your great review.Good to know we tick all the boxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious all round”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stopped in having found The Pizza Cafe with a 5 star Google review searching "good food Newton Abbot" and we were not disappointed. Friendly welcome from all staff. Waitress very friendly and happy to explain bits and pieces on the menu and gave us time to choose so we never felt rushed as you can in some establishments.
Drinks served promptly to quench our thirst whilst order was prepared. Loved the Citrus Twist!
Our two pizzas and a fresh filled bagel came out of the kitchen in good time hot and well presented. Flavours were great, pizza base was clearly freshly made and well cooked, toppings spread well. Bagel eater had no complaints and all plates were emptied.
Waitress was very happy and knew all about the cafe and we enjoyed hearing that such a successful business is in local hands. We wish you all the best and hope you have another great 27 years ahead of you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymTraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant local fresh food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Pizza cafe is one of newton abbots little gems, fresh made pizza, yummy salads and other types of scrummy treats not to mention the ice creams. I would recommend here not only for the good food at a good price but the service is great, the staff are polite and courteous always happy to help with food choices and dietary requirements. Booking a table recommended, give it a try. Lunch is great as it's also a little cheaper.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chickadee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good pizzas”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best pizzas in the town. Very good service eat in or takeaway.
Also good value for money.Good to take the family as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pizza Cafe also viewed

Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to The Pizza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing