We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pharmacy Cafe

The Pharmacy Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Newton Abbot
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I were making our back to the train station and on passing this establishment decided to have a toasted tea cake each and a pot of tea for two. Unfortunately the order was placed before I had noticed the cost! £5 for the tea cakes which only had one half melted portion of butter each and £3-50 for the pot of tea. I can safely say that toasted tea cakes rarely cost more than £1-50 to £1-75 each in the majority of tea shops we have visited. An expensive visit which won't be repeated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    15
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Biggest afternoon tea I have ever had!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I loved this little place. Nice setting, unique pharmacy shop fit, with an eclectic mix of teapots as decorative china. Found the service to be good, as was the choice of food.
Went for afternoon tea, at a very reasonable cost of about £8 per person. Got plenty of tea, a lovely full sandwich of my choice, good scone with obligatory cream and got to pick our choice of 4 cakes. Thought we were getting 4 slices of cake to share, but got 4 slices each. Enormous. I eat a lot of cake and that was a lot of cake. Average quality but homemade.

Defo would go again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Walked out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Bad experience in upstairs restaurant. Room very cold and had to ask for the gas fire to be lit.
Waiting for our order for hot food to be taken, the sole waitress served an elderly couple
two hot chocolates. They took one sip and called the waitress back. Their drinks were both cold. The waitress took them away and replaced them with hot ones. But, how and why did that happen? ... The waitress took our order for two quiches, with sauté potatoes. When she came with the food it was served on cold plates. Food served on cold plates does not stay hot for long! ... We complained and she took the two plates away back to the kitchen. The couple who had been served the cold hot chocolates were from up north and commented to us, "Why do people down south served hot food on cold plates? Up north we like our food served on hot plates so the food stays hot." We agreed with them. Fed up with the poor service we got up and left. Won't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erskine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cake & coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Been here a few times Well worth a visit. Interesting building, good service indulgent cakes!! Plenty of choice and good atmosphere

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PooleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Let by by service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

When I visit Newton Abbot I always go to The Pharmacy for lunch. On this visit I went through the café to go the upstairs area which is a lot more roomy. A member of staff was walking towards me, didn't speak, didn't even make eye contact.
After waiting 20 minutes I had to go and find someone (same girl) in the upstairs kitchen to come and take my order, no apology was offered. On leaving I paid this same member of staff, who barely spoke, it gave me the impression that she didn't care about what she was doing.
Had a cheese omelette which was tasty, plenty of filling.
The food is good but the cold drinks very expensive.
It is not just about the food, service to me is equally important and on this visit it was very poor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SianBExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pharmacy Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Pharmacy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing