We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Carvery in area”

The Hare and Hounds
Ranked #4 of 127 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Carvery in area”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

You can't beat the Hare and Hounds for a great carvery. Because it is so popular, the food is always hot and fresh with such a high turnover. Usual choice of three meats but nice big joints - none of your family size here!! Huge choice from the bar menu also and a fantastic sweet trolley - if you can fit one in!!
The place has a great feel and friendly staff. Eat in the resturant or the bar or even outside on sunny days. Children are welcome with a play area provided.
Great value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    148
    61
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
torquay 285
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top carvery”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Good food excellent resturant good service staff very helpful. Comfortable seating a good selection of beers and wine. Large car park.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starkeyTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent carvery”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Selection of veg on carvery very good and you can have any item on the menu and still have cavery vegetables which is a nice change from chips and peas. I would say the specials are a little pricey for some quite small portions, e.g size of a piece of fish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never fails to surprise...and delight!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Last night I had the twice roasted Duck, which was excellent. It was however trumped by the devilled kidney starter which was nothing short of fantastic. Mum had the stuffed chicken breast and devoured the lot and Dali had chicken Fajitas. The only failure was that dali wasn't as hungry as she at first thought and so asked if we could take the Fajitas away in a doggy-bag. The communication obviously wasn't clear as all we were presented with was two pancakes! That aside it's still my favourite place to eat and justifies the journey from London.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GriffterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not sure”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have known the Hare & Hounds for thirty years & to be fair it is always packed,every year we decide to give it another try & sadly come away disappointed.
last week three one inch squares of sea bass five moules and some tepid vegetables from the carvery represented very poor value for £14.25 !!the desert trolley does look good but the quality
is not in the taste ,and mine was quite bland. give it a try but take my advice and stick to the carvery,The reason I believe most people go for.
.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frost14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing