We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
birthday treat

we all went to the races for a surprise for a friend. weather was good and the racing also. this is... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
peter d
,
Chard, United Kingdom
A locals racecourse

I've been to the racecourse on many occasions, its such a lovely course & so handy for buses... read more

Reviewed 3 February 2019
firlands
,
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Read all 145 reviews
  
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
54
41
27
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
41
27
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews race course parade ring winning post antique fair lovely friendly atmosphere great viewing great afternoon easy parking pot roast once a year great fun plenty of places to eat sunny day birthday party plenty of parking free parking races
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Great first experience of horse racing, plenty of advice about where & when to go how much to bet even where to bet, food & drink were great too!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Steve271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton_Abbot_Race, Public Relations Manager at Newton Abbot Racecourse and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for your 5 star reviews, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your first experience and hope to welcome you back again soon

With best wishes
The Newton Abbot Racecourse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We only go to Newton Abbot Races once a year when holidaying in Torquay, and it is the highlight of our stay. The staff are all friendly and helpful,always having time for a chat and a joke or two. We usually start the meeting with something to eat and drink in the Carvery upstairs which we enjoy while perusing the race card. There is a lovely friendly atmosphere throughout the Racecourse with Racegoers of all ages enjoying the occasion. The informal atmosphere is most in evidence at the Parade Ring with the jockeys always finding time to exchange a few words with and sign autographs for those who ask. It makes a lovely change from larger Racecourses which can be a bit `corporate` and rowdy and is a lovely way to spend a summers` evening -- especially if you have a few winners !!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton_Abbot_Race, Public Relations Manager at Newton Abbot Racecourse and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review and choosing to visit us during your holidays. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again next year.

Best wishes
The Newton Abbot Racecourse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We went last night to the evening event, there was a friendly atmosphere but all the staff assumed you knew what to do, where to go and how to bet. On entering we weren't able to pay by card which I found surprising. When we did get in after being told that there were only grandstand tickets left it turned out that the lady who served us had just run out so wanted us to pay £7 a ticket extra due to the fact she couldn't be bothered to go and find some. They had also run out of racecards.

The cue at the bar was huge with a pretty full racecourse and 2 staff serving.
We were told there was a cash machine, when I found it, it was out of order.
The races themselves were a mix of distances and most of the time we were pretty clueless as to how many times they were passing us before finishing.
We did have a bet, you can bet with William Hill inside with no minimum bet but most of the outside bookies had a minimum bet of a few pounds. Over all if you're going either do your homework or go with a regular who knows the form and can guide you through. Take plenty of cash and get there early.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank peterlO4050AI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton_Abbot_Race, Public Relations Manager at Newton Abbot Racecourse and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Peter,

Many thanks for your review and for choosing to visit us at Newton Abbot. At present, card payments cannot be taken on the gate (this is listed on our website and reminded in our social media posts leading up to racedays) however they can be taken online or over the phone if booking in advance.

Unfortunately we have had technical problems with our cash machine this season, however a cashback service has been in operation from the racecourse office free of charge to counter this - a bonus of cashback with a nice friendly face.

In terms of understanding the racing etc, we have a beginners guide and FAQ section on our website to help people prepare before racedays and also explanations are available in the racecard to help those new to the sport.

We hope to welcome you to Newton Abbot Racecourse again in the future

Best wishes
The Newton Abbot Racecourse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely racecourse, nice and compact with friendly staff. Would highly recommend an afternoons racing here

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank russleaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton_Abbot_Race, Public Relations Manager at Newton Abbot Racecourse and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely 5star review - we hope to welcome you back again soon

Best wishes
The Newton Abbot Racecourse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

A fantastic day out with family and friends lots of fun drinks quite reasonable food was very good value catered for everyone we will be back

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank acbrown244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton_Abbot_Race, Public Relations Manager at Newton Abbot Racecourse and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Lovely to read your 5 star review and we look forward to welcoming you back

Best wishes
The Newton Abbot Racecourse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews