We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Sleep”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Lovely clean hotel, comfy bed, friendly staff and Tesco across the road is very handy. The attached restaurant was very good. Had to ask for extra milk and decaf coffee in the room but this was supplied without any problems.



  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hello Purplekd

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you found your room clean and comfortable, I will pass your comments out to the housekeeping department. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    206
    69
    26
    8
See reviews for
205
221
31
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked 3 rooms here and the whole experience was brilliant. At reception the staff were very helpful especially as we has booked a disabled room. All the rooms were very clean and fresh, the rest of our party arrived very late and were still greeted with a friendly welcoming smile.
***please note though the beefeater adjoining the Inn, is an absolute nightmare... the staff are very rude and unhelpful..... the place was half empty and although they did have a large Xmas party, they insisted that there would be an hours wait for food. I pointed out all the empty tables but to no avail.. don't waste you time here***

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello Anthony J

Thank-you for your fantastic review of your stay with us at Premier Inn Newton Abbot, as always our team here do their very best for our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We, as a family, have stayed at a number of different hotels over the last couple of years. With a young child, location and facilities are always very high on the list of priorities. This hotel ticked all the right boxes and added a few more. Bex was the receptionist who was on duty when we arrived and she couldn't have been more solicitous. Check-in was quick and easy and the room was simple but very comfortable. There was an easy to use control for the air conditioning and it was instantaneous. By this point we were more than happy but that was until breakfast the next morning.
Breakfast is served at the Beefeater which is linked by a walkway. Being honest, it was the Trip Adviser reviews about the staff that convinced us to stay at this hotel and we weren't in the least disappointed. Paul was our main waiter for the morning and nothing was too much trouble. He was on hand to take any order or answer any questions we had. The breakfasts, unusually in our experience, were build your own full English with no limits which was cooked perfectly to order, along-side the buffet which you could visit as much as you liked. The fresh fruit was so appealing that our 7 year old son decided to have fruit salad instead of more cereal or cooked, and served himself. I did inform Paul that previous reviews mentioning him were the reason we decided to stay there and, bless him, he was gratified but embarrassed about it. Sorry Paul couldn't not give you further plaudits. We also had both our evening meals there and all the staff were brilliant, especially Coral who was obviously very busy, yet had time and a genuine smile for every one of her diners.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hello Part-Cornish,

Thank-you for your kind review about your stay here at Premier Inn Newton Abbot, our team always strive to give outstanding service and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to Paul, Bea & Coral who will be happy to hear them.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I spent a very comfortable night in a quiet hotel. The meals at the Beefeater next door were good value for money. The only negative comment I have is that, if it had been raining, I'd have got very wet walking to the restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63EAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear 63EAB,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us. The comments were lovely and very kind of you, and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us at Newton Abbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for a week on business with colleagues. The hotel is new and spotless. The rooms seem better than average for a Premier Inn and the staff on reception very friendly. There is a Tesco across the road which is very handy and Newton centre is either a 15 min walk or a £4 taxi.
The pub next door stops me giving a 5 rating. Just awful. Again, it's new and looks great. That's where the good bits stop. Although on general friendly, the staff are useless. Twice in our 5 day stay we waited over an hour for food. 1 night we were actually quoted an hour and a half wait for food!! The pub wasn't even full. On our last night they were not even doing bar food and you had to eat in the restaurant. Oh, there is an hour wait for a table. SHAMBLES!!!!
We had had enough of the place by then and went into Newton for some beer in the Weatherspoons and a kebab!! Yes, that was the better choice!!

Good hotel. Avoid the pub. It is being run seriously badly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Another faultless stay at this particular Premier Inn. Easy to find, easy car parking, friendly receptionist, spotless and modern room, comfy bed, sparkling bathroom, good night's sleep, Handy Tesco just across the road for food and petrol. All for £39. Thank you Premier Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Bearsgal

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. I am glad you were welcomed by a friendly team we all try our best to make every guest feel welcome. Thank you for your review of our rooms I am so happy you found your room spotless and you bathroom sparkling. I will pass your fantastic comments on to the housekeeping team. I hope to welcome you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

From arrival to departure I can highly recommend the Premier Inn at Newton Abbot.
The reception staff were very courteous and helpful, the food at the Beefeater was good, not exceptional, but good.
The other staff were very helful in the hotel, I aksed for an iron and it arrived in less than 2 minutes, it was collected prompty also.
The room was clean and comfortable, the shower was lovely, strong and no issues with the water.
All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judemhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello jademhughes

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you found your room clean and comfortable, I will pass your comments out to the housekeeping department. The team here always strive to give fantastic guest service once again thank you for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
0.8 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
80 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
341 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#32 of 87 in Torquay
549 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
Address: Newton Abbot Racecourse Newton Road | Newton Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serenity of Dartmoor National Park and the fun of River Dart Country Park are just minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing