We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andrew from Staffs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Andrew from Staffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A shame that it was a business trip and not on a racing day - hotel overlooks racecourse and no doubt would be the base for a great day out. Warm reception and conveniently located restaurant. Enjoyable




  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello Andrew M,
Thank you for your kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon, Hopefully on a race day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    190
    64
    25
    7
See reviews for
194
200
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and 11 month old Son on 31 December 2013. We choose this hotel as we just fancied something different for New Years Eve rather than staying at home. The parking is good and we were fortunate to get a space under the hotel (which we needed to protect us from the horrendous wind). The receptionists were very welcoming and helpful.
I found that our room (1st floor front facing) was smaller than other Premier Inn's I have previously stayed in and theres been a few. The hotel itself appeared very quiet and we didnt see any other guests around at all. The hotel has an adjoining Brewers Fayre pub restaurant which is linked by a bridge (not covered in even with a shelter which isn't great in bad weather especially when you have to walk half way around the put to the enterance). Overall we will not be staying here again, even if we get a £29 room offer again, I just found it dull and uninviting.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Penelope_-_-_-_UK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

situated next to the race course and opposite tesco superstore.close to town centre with short drive to dartmoor.can be a bit difficult getting out of car park as there is only one way out onto mini roundabout which is heavily congested at most times of the day.The hotel itself is spotless with really comfortable rooms especially the bed.The staff are all very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Hello Edward D,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our team to be friendly and professional. I will pass your comment on to our housekeeping department who will be happy to hear that you thought the hotel was spotless and our bed very comfortable. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Newton Abbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

At check in I asked for a quiet room. It was clear from the mumbled response from the receptionist that the room we had been allocated was not quiet. Room 107. Given that we arrived at 2pm I was very disappointed that the receptionist would not allocate us to a quieter room. Her excuse was that the hotel was full. On her desk were a pile of papers for later arrivals so it would have been possible, if a little inconvenient. I was told I should have phoned through my request the day before. Why can't a box be added on the website if you won't handle a request on the day? That's what most decent hotel chains do. Is it just a ploy to get me to use your 0870 number?

Anyway the room had a door through to the adjoining room. And of course when the occupants returned at 11pm turned the tv on. A perfectly reasonable thing to do. I don't think they had it on very loud but you could hear exactly what they were watching. At midnight I gave up and banged on the door. I felt a bit bad because it wasn't their fault the sound proofing is so rubbish.

Anyway I did get a refund on my lost sleep. My wife found the bed too hard as well. But it was the attitude of the member of staff who didn't seem able to do anything that was most grating both when we checked in and when we checked out. It wasn't about the money I'd rather have had a quiet room.

The hotel facilities seemed ok. We had breakfast and that was ok. The best bit is that my two children had separate beds which is better than you get in most holiday inns.

And if whitbread staff want to respond to this review please don't put your usual inane platitudes. What you've said on other reviews is just meaningless.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ez3626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and as always amazing rooms. Wish the rooms are always £29. All other chains need to to take note of what premier inn offer youd never know its run by whitbread as run very well and great size rooms. May use again if down the area and at £29

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luke14ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello luke14ott

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am please you found the team to be friendly and that our rooms are amazing. The comments were lovely and very kind of you, and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us here at Newton Abbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Well located for our purpose, close to all major routes. Modern, clean, comfortable and above all very accommodating staff. Lovely breakfast and enjoyed the chicken with vegetable linguine on one evening of our stay. Certainly have never found better for £25 for the room per night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgansnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hello Morgansnan

Thank-you for your fantastic review of your stay with us at premier Inn Newton Abbot, as always our team here do their very best for our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

As always , clean comfortable warm accomodation this is our 4th stay here and we are always pleased with odour stay from start to finish. This has got to be top of the list for friendly staff!from reception to housekeeping staff! Paul that looked after us each morning at breakfast was a delight thanks to one and all.The breakfast is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estherdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hello estherdiane

Thank-you for your kind review about your stay here at Premier Inn Newton Abbot, our team always strive to give outstanding service and I'm pleased to hear that you found our premier breakfast good value for money, I will pass your comments on to Paul and the team, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again to Premier Inn Newton Abbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
Address: Newton Abbot Racecourse Newton Road | Newton Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serenity of Dartmoor National Park and the fun of River Dart Country Park are just minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing