We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Rooms were clean and well maintained. Convenient location. Very quiet despite being on busy road and next to racecourse and Supermarket. Good value for money. Would have liked unlimited Wi-Fi as phone signal is rubbish (in the area generally). Room was very warm though and not easy to make it cooler

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Nic D,

Thank you for your kind review about your stay here at Newton Abbot Premier Inn, Myself and my team always strive to give fantastic customer service and a nice, clean room. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    202
    69
    25
    8
See reviews for
202
215
30
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic check inn. The girl behind the desk was brilliant. She explained the sleep guarantee policy and offered breakfast in the morning which we took and thoroughly enjoyed . definitely good value for money and I would definitely recommend this premier inn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm110266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Malcolm118266,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Newton Abbot Premier Inn and that you found the team here to be friendly and welcoming, I will pass your comments on to the team here who will be pleased to hear them. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Newton Abbot soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

You know what you're getting with a Premier Inn, and this one doesn't fail.

Very handy for the road network, very quiet, pleasant staff etc.

You can walk into town easily, where there are restaurants/ pubs etc. The Gurkha restaurant on Main Street is a little gem, been there a couple of times now and had very good food. Or you can go to the Prem Inn's sister pub next door.

One tip for breakfast. If you've paid for the full English, but don't want some of the items they don't max up the other ingredients. I paid £9 for a spoonful of scrambled egg, three (yes, three) mushrooms, and two rashers of bacon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello BriJackie,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us. The comments were lovely and very kind of you, and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us at Newton Abbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I use this chain regularly for work and the Newton Abbott one was by far the worst I have been in. The room was filthy, service poor and it was impossible to get mobile phone reception in the room I was in. That makes a lone female traveller feel unsafe. I had to go outdoors to make a call. Didn't feel staff were very polite when I made a complaint either. Nicest part of this trip was leaving. Wouldn't stay there again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Finias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can investigate further. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

You never expect a lot from Premier Inn but they usually tick the boxes and are easy. This one was let down by three things: Systems down at check in which meant no keys. Breakfast service appalling. Most importantly though (as other reviewers mention) you can't open the windows and the electronic ventilation is automatic and VERY noisy. Terrible design, and while I'm sure it is well intentioned, it's a bad idea...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogwen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff are very helpful and polite. The room we had was very quiet and very clean.
The location is so easy to get to being next to the race track those are the only signs you need to look for. Also no messing around with taxi drivers not sure what hotel you are stopping in.
The restaurant next door is very nice and well layer out.
We had breakfast and got seated very quickly. The food was prepared as per our request. You can order what things you want with out having a plateful of thing you don't want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R, Manager at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello Paul B,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, I am glad you found your rooms to be quiet and very clean I will pass your comments on to the housekeeping department. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback. We hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us here at Newton Abbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April, on arrival all was pleasant enough. The first night we decided to eat at the Beefeater (which was a Sunday) meal ok but could have been slightly more pleasant.On the second night we decided to return to Beefeater next door only to be told NO tables for at least over 1hour we should have booked.No one had advised us about this (in hindsight we should have known). Return to reception to ask about this situation only to be told we should have booked as it can get busy, asked why they hadnt informed us of this on arrival total blank. But if any help there were places to eat in Newton Abbott. Having young children with us made it slightly more difficult as by this time it was getting late for us to find somewhere. We also made reception aware that the room above us was quite noisy at night but were told they would be going home that day, but the room was occupied again that night, so back to square one! Wouldnt rush to go back

Room Tip: Room facing racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittychris94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
0.8 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
Address: Newton Abbot Racecourse Newton Road | Newton Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serenity of Dartmoor National Park and the fun of River Dart Country Park are just minutes away ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing