We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“impressive meal”
Review of Babbini's Tearoom/Restaurant - CLOSED

Babbini's Tearoom/Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and Visit Our Victorian Tearoom in the Heart of Abbotskerswell.Kevin and Sam Babbini pride themselves in their superb cuisine,all freshly prepared in our Kitchen by Kevin.Try a Breakfast with a Coffee made from Freashly Ground Beans or our Speciality Lunches of the Day as well as anything you fancy off our Menu.Or come and have a Luxury Victorian Tea with 4 different kinds cakes or even a cream tea!Our emphasis is on excellent service in a ambiance of comfortable surroundings to spoil our customers.We are open 9:30 TO 4pm six days a week. Closed Mondays
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“impressive meal”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The French evening was so good they ran it twice and it sold out on both occasions!

Kevin certainly knows how to get flavours to work together. The onion soup was excellent and the beef bourguignonne [well that's how Delia spells it!] was even better plus lovely pud for only £20!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonkarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast Around!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Not into greasy fry-ups? Then this is the place for you! Excellently prepared food and great coffee. I had the vegetarian breakfast and my wife had poached egg and bacon on toast - there are 12 options on the breakfast menu so I'm sure there is something for everyone. This is only our second visit but we will be treating ourselves more often!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went to the Scandinavian evening as a Fathers day eve treat for my wife's Dad. Outstanding! The starters were poached pear or Gravalax [smoked salmon]. Two had duck, one fish and one the veggie option for mains and they were superb. Puds we all had a Norwegian dish that was brilliant too. All for £80!!

Kevin is a fantastic chef and Sam and her Mum run front of house very efficiently on these occasions. Book early for the next special evening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonkarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Little Gem for Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We popped in for afternoon tea after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Babbini's is in Abbotskerswell which is only 5 minutes in the car from Torquay, but is a very untouched little village and very quaint. It seems to be largely used by the villagers but was very welcoming to us 'foreigners'. We tried the warm Bakewell tart and the lemon sponge cake. Both were excellent, ant the accompanying ice cream/clotted cream were superb too. Cost around £8 in total so really excellent value too. If you drive through Abbotskerswell you can't miss them and would be missing out if you didn't try them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ghotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch. The tasty main dish was properly home cooked with extra vegetables as requested. The pudding a recently made apricot bakewell and all for £10.00!!!. The service was efficient, friendly and considerate. To find the restaurant does need a little bit of ingenuity because it is in a beautiful village but slightly off the beaten track. We will be back, particularly because they were advertising a speciality evening of French food. This restaurant is a real find; quality food produced by an excellent chef at a reasonable price. The decor does look slightly dated for the younger market, but this does not put us off because the time and money is clearly being invested in the quality food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bournereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbini's Tearoom/Restaurant also viewed

Newton Abbot, Devon
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing