We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch”

The Oak Room Restaurant - Dainton Park
Ranked #20 of 130 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Oak Room Restaurant at Dainton Park Golf Club serves a selection of wholesome, home-cooked dishes from 12-2pm Mon-Fri, and a traditional roast carvery every Sunday. The restaurant is open to everyone, not just golfers, and we welcome families and special occasion celebrations. There is ample free parking and beautiful views over the golf course; come and see what you're missing!
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Our group booked our Christmas lunch here, for the last couple of years, we had a really nice meal and a nice time, but this year, the service was so poor, and the food was not a lot better. Needless to say we will not be going back again.

We all felt the reason for the poor service was due to the fact they had too many people, and not enough staff, and the food was all pre ordered, so they knew what we all wanted.

We had to keep asking for more vegetables, the meat had lots of fat in it, and the outside of the roast potatoes were so hard we could not eat them, in fact it was a very poor meal, most disappointing, as it was not cheap...!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Janetb2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tee on in Devon”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lovely surroundings and a good choice of dishes made our visit most enjoyable. The bufffet-style service was efficient and friendly and the vegetables were some of the best I have encountered, served under these conditions. The view from the restaurant over the golf course is stunning. All in all, an excellent experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food; book because it's busy”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Buffet style restaurant offering good choice from a range of pre-cooked main courses. Good quality and quantity. Popularity ensures that no dish stays on the heat trays long. At £9.50 for a main dish and £1.75 for a glass of wine, much better than any pub bar food I've had.

Popular, so ring first for a table. On an October Tuesday lunchtime it was full.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were here as a treat from a friend of ours who is a regular diner here, and many thanks for bringing us.
The choice of mains and veg was excellent. The service and helpfulness outstanding right down to helping carry a tray to our table. We were extremely pleased with the food and the portions are very generous. And then the dessert menu arrived, again a huge choice to pick from and they were lovely. We will certainly be dining here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevore415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The restaurant is on the site of Dainton golf course, on the road from Newton Abbot to Totnes, but you do not have to be a member.
The restaurant itself is bright and airy with oak table and chairs.
All the cooked meals are the same price - £9.50 and there is an excellent choice of traditional English food and the more exotic such a Indian.
It is buffet service, your main course is dished up and you then help yourself to as many vegetables as you want.There were,new potatoes, roast potatoes, rice, carrots, broccoli, leeks, red cabbage peas, swede and probably more.
The plates are put on wooden trays as the plates are hot but a waitress cleared the trays straight away. A nice touch.
We only had a main course which was more than sufficient for lunch but the sweets did look lovely!
If you are lucky to get a table in the window the view over the golf course is lovely.
The service was excellent and quick and we would definitely visit again.
If you are not up for a cooked meal there are several inviting snacks to be hadin the comfortable bar.

.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanni44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak Room Restaurant - Dainton Park also viewed

Newton Abbot, Devon
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Ipplepen, Newton Abbot
Littlehempston, Totnes
 

Been to The Oak Room Restaurant - Dainton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing