We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO 1 FISH AND CHIPS!”
Review of Chippies Plaice

Chippies Plaice
Ranked #28 of 129 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton abbot
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO 1 FISH AND CHIPS!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I love this shop! I would eat in here every day if I could! Great honest fish and chips, I went in with 3 friends on my lunch break, within five minutes I was asked if I was ready for my order to bed taken, I ordered fish and chips with mushy peas! The fish was melt in the mouth, the chips were perfect and talk about proper chippy peas! It's was excellent. The staff are amazing they can't do enough for you. The bosses are very kind and the prices are not to high! Very good value for food! Would recommend to anyone! PERFECT!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Perfectfood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    12
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a good chippy for good food and almost all times I have visited the food has been great. Although the last time I went the chips were not cooked properly and a bit hard which was awful as I urged and was really sick! Also if you sit in the restaurant area the waitress's do not table check and ask how your meal is. I no long go to this chip shop as the last couple of times ive been the food is going downhill and the staff and owners are very rude and will not go out of their way to make you happy as everything is too much effort! I asked them for a thin piece of fish and on all occasions they say sorry you can only have what is up their as they couldn't be bothered. I now go to Jacksons which is just around the corner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank joanne220787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food average owner rude”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had fish and Chips in restaurant was abit greasy, not the best in town by no means, but while sat waiting for the food to arrive heard the lady owner having a
go at the young lad who worked there,about when he needs to work he said he will check if he can, her reply infront of everyone who could hear in the restaurant, was do you want your job,not
at all professional should not be done in front if customers, would not go back again!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teetoo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Put a telephone order in for 4 lots of cod/haddock and chips plus mushy peas. The food was lovely, melt in the mouth fish. Picked the food up and they were very friendly. It's a busy spot. Never seen so many people in a fish and chip shop! Going to go another time and eat in the cafe out the back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DeanaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Consistently perfect!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Never had a bad bag of chips from this place! Lovely! My number one place for them way better that place in babbacombe

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippies Plaice also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Chippies Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing