We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Inn in a rural setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Church House Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic Inn in a rural setting”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I must admit that this was my fourth stay but it is my first review of this inn. Obviously I keep going back and that rarely happens and so they must be doing things right. We went there to celebrate a special birthday and invited friends and family. It is an ideal place for this as large groups can be seated in a separate area so as not to disturb other customers. Kane runs an excellent establishment where the service is so friendly and efficient and the food is very good; importantly it is also good value for money. Special thanks to Darren, Alison, Marie and Chris for looking after us so well and also to the chefs and other staff that we did not meet. There are a regular number of locals which is always a good sign and adds to the pleasant atmosphere. The inn has bags of character, there is an ancient church within 100 yards that is usually open and worth a visit and plenty of walks and other attractions nearby. For anybody visiting Devon or foreign tourists wishing to experience the old England they should put it on their list of places to stay. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are original 13/14 th Century with bags of character and are comfortable but not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandTourer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    33
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
61
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I was lost and stumbled upon this place late at night. The staff couldn't have been nicer. I was travelling solo and they soon had me settled comfortably in front of one of the fires. Who shines the brass and copper ornaments! They really glowed! It was beautiful. - like

The food was superb. I stayed two nights.

The only problem was on the last morning at 8.45 there was no one there when I came down for breakfast Lights off, kitchen closed and no One apparently in the 15th century building with me. I panicked a bit especially when i found the front door locked and bolted in 4 places. I managed in the dark to unbolt myself and get outside. A staff member drove up shortly after. I assumed staff were on the premises 24/7.?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Had lunch here while visiting the area with a Group. It was the best Roast dinner I have had in a long time, Rib of beef, perfect.
Staff so pleasant and helpful, even when pushed to wait on our Group of some 20 people.
Looking forward to coming back very soon.
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We've stayed here many times in the last 8 yrs(in lots of different rooms,our fave is room 12 in the older section) & visit loads for drinks/food as we are fairly local.It's children friendly,we took our oldest son to stay the night once & kids welcome if popping in for a drink,but usually just myself & husband for overnight.Dog friendly-dogs allowed in bar & allowed to stay overnight in certain rooms.On our day visits we've been treated to a large owl in the bar as a bird handler there,kids loved & squirrel marinated in cider cooked on one of the two indoor fireplaces by a local!!We took some American friends there & they loved as it's SO oldey English.A bit out of the way,but good base for Totnes,Newton Abbot & not too far from Dartmoor.Sir Arthur Conan Doyle apparently wrote the Hound of the Baskervilles here & is buried nearby in Ipplepen cemetry.Food-was great,but our last meal-husband asked for a cheeseboard & was asked what type of cheese.......a cheeseboard should have a selection,bit disappointing-don't think the food is as good as a few years ago-but the breakfast is good.Kane & Caroline,the owners are friendly & welcoming-the main staff Claire & Darren are lovely.For you ghost hunters-this inn was featured on 'Most Haunted' a few years ago.Myself & husband have had a few experiences here,as have the owners,staff & other visitors.Happy to answer any questions about the Church House.Have put as a couples visit,but take family(& dog too).

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old part of inn as more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facepainter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed for two nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very cosy atmosphere, comfy bed and nice deep bath! Staff were very friendly and helpful, I am a vegan and they catered for me with no problems, the food was excellent! Lots of wonderful places to explore nearby, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have just returned from a Sunday lunch for two. Lovely quaint old place with stunning roast dinner. Locals and landlord were really friendly and they were really dog friendly. Sat in front of lovely log fire eating stunning food. We will definately return and I would recommend the Sunday roast!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readit101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed for nearly a week and didn't want to leave at all :-)
Our rooms were great! Warm and cozy heated, the beds comfortable, mattresses perfect, crisp clean linen and hooray! the early morning tea to help oneself to, too - sadly missed in all continental hotels!
My friend had her first full English breakfast ever and would have gone for it every day hadn't there been a quite tempting menu for dinner as well. We tried nearly everything on it and everything was fine (vegetarians could probably be a little disappointed - but just ask, I am sure the staff can help).
Bar is well equipped with a good range of whiskies, too.

A really unique building with plenty of history, cozy fires running and chairs and sofas to retreat to for some talk or quiet reading. All this with Dartmoor at the doorstep - there can hardly be a better place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 22 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Church House Inn

Property: Old Church House Inn
Address: Torbryan, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Church House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Old Church House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Church House Inn Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing