We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dandimatt...
1 review
“Great holiday.”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wicked time, plenty of room and cosy feel, highly recommended :) would love to come again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
Hello Dan. Great to hear you had a good time at Pleasant Maris. We would love to welcome you back again. See you again in the Spring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sroddison
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“weekend away”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

loverly cottage with plenty of room nice bedrooms with lotts of storage kitchen good for cooking wity enough utensils large dinning table for 8 nice lounge no complaints it was just what we needed for our stay in devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and number of bedrooms/nice village
Liked least: garden could look better
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
That's great to hear - we're glad you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy but with a few minor issues,”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a lovely Cottage, with plenty of room, & we really enjoyed staying here, this was the 4th time time we had booked the cottage through holiday lettings, but the owner had pulled it within a few days of travel, but we booked directly with the owner "Andrew" this time. the living areas were spacious with large screen tv & a good music system, the upstairs bedrooms were of a good size with plenty of clothes storage, My bedroom had a double bed which was very comfortable, & was on the front of the house & beniffed from having double glazing, the master bedroom has double aspect windows & a queen sized bed, the other bedrooms were singles, one of the friends found her mattress extremely uncomfortable, the other issues were to mainly decor, The rooms were rather tired looking, & it would really benefit from redecorating inside & out & double glazing to the rest of the windows, But would I stay there again, YES definitely Can also recommend the Pub in the village The Jolly Sailor for good beer & Excellent meals.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lounge, dining room & Sun Lounge.
Liked least: the garden was a bit of a mess with old fencing panels, chucked in the corner, & a previous tenant hadn't cleared up their dogs mess, & the lawn needed cutting.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Hi Jon. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and found things to your liking. We'll take on board all you have said and take a look at the mattress (!) which we can change if it is lumpy :-) Yes, you would be welcome to return and we would love to hear from you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a lovely village would recommend to all!”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here in for a week and had a lovely time. The cottage is really nice in a beautiful village. It is nice and close of lots of beautiful areas in south Devon. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Great. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECorder
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good once you get in!”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely cottage in a small village near Torquay. Went for a family Christening, it was good to be able to sit together after the event in a peaceful setting. Two bad points 1 we were given the wrong key code so had to send a message to trip advisor to get the owner to let us have the "new" (12 months old) key code for the lock as he had sent us out of date information. So we were waiting for three hours to access the property. 2 Two of our party had travelled from afar and needed an iron, but no iron in the premises, sent a message to the owner by text and he replied an hour later saying the cleaner had lent it as hers was broken, which was too late so two of the men had to sit all day in the hot weather with their jackets on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking only available for one car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thanks for this - we're glad you thought the cottage was lovely and had a good stay.

We are REALLY sorry about the wrong keysafe number which is now sorted out once and for all (new automated booking system had a "human input" glitch. Our cleaner did indeed borrow the iron in order to prepare the cottage for incoming guests and was on her way back to retturn it but we found out a little late - sorry again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedizzyb...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would not return.”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Before our stay, we had received good instructions on finding the property on receipt of £100 deposit we were asked for.

We arrived at a house with an overflowing dustbin. Within the garage were several other bags from previous guests (we assume) - I am not sure how long they had been there but evidently some time. We took to taking our bags away with us finding lack of space and not wanting to leave rotting food within or next to the property. On entering the property we were pleasantly surprised by how spacious it was and also it was well equipped with a dishwasher (the washing machine did NOT work) and lots of kitchen utensils. Linen on the beds were clean and the house was tidy. That is where the good points came to an end. It became evident that the central heating was not working as the house grew colder and colder. We stayed during the coldest week in February with our three young children. Within the property there was one small fan heater which was totally inadequate heating up a 5 bedroom property as you can imagine.

We contacted the owner the following morning and were assured he would send someone out but as the holiday went on with a mid week excuse of not being able to find anyone, it became apparent that there would be no heating repair during our stay. As a home owner, I am aware of how a call out does not take a week!

A sign on the electric meter cupboard stated the owner would refund the money. We obviously expected oil central heating included in our holiday and were now faced with having to charge the key for the sole fan heater and an immersion heater for water. This notice was comforting. We duly got receipts and did the best we could with what we were given. A man turned up on the final day of our stay to fix the heating but we were leaving by this point so this was not at all acceptable!

We contacted the owner sending clear copies of our electricity receipts and offered to send them to him if he wanted originals. We also requested our deposit back. The owner continued to ignore us and it became apparent he was avoiding us. We became increasingly concerned and sent regular emails. After 4 weeks we received a mail which stated he had been ill and all matters would be sorted. Sadly this was not the case and no money was repaid and no further contact able too be made. It was only at the point we threatened to take further action that eventually (a day before the action was going to be taken) that we received our deposit back but with none of our electricity costs refunded. There was no contact (just a bank transfer) and again the owner is not available.

The holiday which could had been such a nice stay was marred throughout having no central heating and worse still having to resort to action to gain back money legally ours! It really left a bad taste. I cannot recommend this property to anyone and would not like another family to experience what we had to.

Please be aware that there are two websites for this property and my review has been posted on both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house was spacious and clean.
Liked least: The owner was not helpful, difficult to contact and seemed unwilling to deal with problems (heating) or to refund our money without action having to be taken.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
I note this is the SECOND time of this posting despite only a single visit to the cottage having been made. We're not used to dealing with keyboard warriors and will not speculate on the reasons for posting on multiple occasions. It's best that we simply re-post the same response as before:

"We're glad you liked the cottage and the village and the general area. We know from discussions how much you enjoyed this lovely area. As for the deposit, we returned this to you as soon as we were able following the loss of our computer system and the fact there was a glitch in our (new) automated payment system. Far from being completely ignored, we kept you informed throughout but were unable to ascertain whether our system had processed the payment. On a related point, we note the cynical comment regarding your legal threat. The payment was made in good faith at the earliest opportunity, and the suggestion that this was deliberately only done on the last day before legal proceedings is as inaccurate as it is unpleasant. We know from our discussions that you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry you have allowed the difficulties we encountereed after your return to taint your view. Notwithstanding this, we are glad you and the children enjoyed the visit."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnytofi...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“from bad to worse..”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Good Points;
1, The accommodation was spacious and clean with reasonably good facilities.
2, The location is good for exploring surrounding area.

Bad Points;
1, The oil-fired Central Heating wasn't working for the whole of our stay. We informed the owner of this on arrival, but still wasn't fixed 6 days later. Our stay was a very cold week in February, and we had to rely on a single electric fan heater in the living room, which was totally inadequate for heating such a big place. This property is on a Key Meter, and so our use of the fan heater, as well as having to use the electric immersion heater to heat the hot water tank (so we could shower etc) meant we used up the electricity credit very quickly, and hence we also had to keep charging the key up at the supermarket, at substantial cost and inconvenience. The owner states he will refund any electricity used (see photo), but he did not (see Point 3 & 4.)
2, On our arrival we noticed that the outside wheelie Bin was completely overflowing with rubbish, and we found more rubbish bags inside the garage. We resorted to having to take our own rubbish out with us every day to dispose of in public bins.
3, After our stay we did not receive our Deposit money back, nor the above mentioned electricity costs. We made multiple calls to the owner, left voicemails, and sent emails on a weekly basis trying to get our money back, but were completely ignored.
4, After 7 weeks, we wrote to the owner that after 1 more week we would be proceeding with small claims court action to recover our money.
After a further 6 days, i.e the very last day before we were due to raise our Court Application, the owner then surprisingly made a Bank Transfer to us for the deposit, but NOT for the electricity costs.

As a family with 3x very young children, and tight budgets, we found the whole situation appalling, and we wish we had never stayed there.

Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No central heating during our stay, and huge effort to get our deposit back.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
We're glad you liked the cottage and the village and the general area. We know from discussions how much you enjoyed this lovely area.

As for the deposit, we returned this to you as soon as we were able following the loss of our computer system and the fact there was a glitch in our (new) automated [payment system. Far from being completely ignored, we kept you informed throughout but were unable to ascertain whether our system had processed the payment. On a related point, we note the cynical comment regarding your legal threat. The payment was made in good faith at the earliest opportunity, and the suggestion that this was deliberately only done on the last day before legal proceedings is as inaccurate as it is unpleasant.

We know from our discussions that you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry you have allowed the difficulties we encountereed after your return to taint your view. Notwithstanding this, we are glad you and the children enjoyed the visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing