We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor , rude staff and one of the barmaids thort it was ok to take a sip off my drink !!”
Review of Saffron - CLOSED

Saffron
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor , rude staff and one of the barmaids thort it was ok to take a sip off my drink !!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I would never go here again as we waited over 2 hours and still did not eat !! The staff were rude all the drinks were flat and it was dirty . We went with family and friends and we were all very disappointed .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danjc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    12
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Long wait, average food ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived around 9pm after unsuccessfully trawling through town looking for somewhere to eat. We ordered drinks and food quickly, but waited over an hour before the meals arrived.

When the food came the service was laughable at best, rude at worst. The food was ok, but we were all starving by the time we ate!

Helpful?
Thank Dapper_Dan_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“best indian food in a long while”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Service good. Clean and modern restaurant.
Food excellent arrives hot (temp)
Lamb dhall Kabuli -perfect.
Tarka dahl - out of this world.
Lamb biryani - wow.
Nans and chappatis all freshly cooked.
would recommend - standard prices

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Day T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“reliable indian restaurant”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Saffron was recommended by a friend who likes good food she was right we had a good quality meal at Saffron not greasy and good quality meat not always the case in Indian restaurants.
Flavours were excellent .
Don't think bad reviews are very objective for example buffet meals at Indian rest. are always for the snouts in trough brigade.

Service was polite and they cared about our opinion

Go and try it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a shame!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Well we were here for a friends surprise birthday, we had eaten here before and last time was lovely ....This time totally the oppersit.

We arrived abit late and joined the table just in time for the drinks order, I ordered a coke, the waiter asked me if I would like regular or large, I said large please. When the drinks order arrived at the table he shouted from the other end down the table a pint of coke , I said oh yes large coke is me, his reply was " yes pint and large are the same thing actually " which i thought was very rude! The waiter seem to be rude throughout the night Shame to because other staff were lovely.

We ordered food and meals came, i ordered chicken tikka Masala, it was awful! No taste what so ever was just like a bowl of cream with chicken in it! So disappointed.

I don't think I would now go back to there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLSB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 
Ipplepen, Newton Abbot
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing