We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heat Wave.”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #39 of 134 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in at lunch time for our first visit. What splendid staff we asked if we could move tables as my daughter was suffering after a migraine they were very obliging and helpful.Our waitress Charlotte was excellent and the chef/carver was polite friendly and upbeat. Food of good quality and overall it was a pleasant experience.We recommend this little carvery. Many thanks to all

1  Thank frosty182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!
Thank you so much for your positive comments about Toby Carvery Newton Abbot!
It's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Came here for an evening meal on a Thursday night and was greeted with a lovely warm welcome from the door by a man called Gabriel who showed us to our table and explained the whole process of ordering food etc. Within minutes of seating at our table we had a lovely young waitress called Hollie come and take our order and get our drinks for us. The food was delicious and a very polite carver greeted us with a smile and asked how our day was etc, lovely bloke who ran a clean deck with some lovely looking food. Overall a great evening with superb food and amazing staff, will definitely return. A great place to eat in Newton Abbot

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank william881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi William881, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!
Thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Newton Abbot!
Reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care.
Too many people use social media as a slating towards us instead of talking to the duty managers and team while they still visit us which is disheartens the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Excellent meal,very busy but fast service. Barman was very friendly think he said his name was Tom. Waiter for the night was Shane, very helpful. Will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chigley2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Chigley2018, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!
We're pleased that you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at Toby Carvery Newton Abbot. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

First time here and we did not realise that it is primarily a carvery. Very little choice of other meals but if you like a roast, and we do, then it’s good and under £7.00.
All the meats looked delicious, moist and lean and I chose pork and turkey.
The Yorkshire puddings were huge and tasted homemade. There was a good choice of veg and in addition to the roast potatoes there were dauphinoise which were tempting.
Unusually a choice of gravy, beef or vegetarian and a choice of sauces etc.
Service was good even though I got a spritzer with lemonade instead of soda but quickly rectified.
Quite a good choice of desserts but we couldn’t manage even one between us.
Better value than many carverys in the area costing up to £5 more.
Give it a try.

Thank Jeanni44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hi Jeanni44, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!
Thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Newton Abbot!
Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

On holiday in the area,looked on line for a Toby carvery for a evening meal,found this one and decided to visit,unfortunately it is with regret,found the beef inedible although the veg etc cooked to perfection,staff very friendly but didn't seem to bothered when I complained,I'm hoping this is a just a one off.

Thank hooter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hooter50, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing