We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime ”
Review of Coombe Cellars

Coombe Cellars
Ranked #59 of 133 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Price range: US$13 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Coombe Cellars is a quirky yet stylish establishment that is perfect for escaping the demand that often comes hand in hand with everyday life. With a wide choice of starters, light bites, mains, and sharing platters, as well as an extensive drinks menu, you’ll be able to choose from a wide range of freshly prepared dishes that are sure to satisfy even the toughest food critics. This relaxed pub, bar, and restaurant also has a great outdoor space that’s perfect for a spot of al fresco dining during the summer months - enjoy stunning views of the estuary as you kick back, relax and unwind in truly special surroundings. There is plenty of car parking available, and we are also child friendly, so please feel free to bring your little ones along too. In addition to our magnificent interiors, we also offer a fabulous outdoor dining space that’s perfect for alfresco dining all year round.
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

So looking forward to visiting here as the location is gorgeous with amazing views of the Teign estuary.
I’m sorry to say lunch was very disappointing. Whilst waiting patiently at the bar to be served, there was no acknowledgement at all from the waiter at the bar who was waiting for a customer to tell him their table number. Not even eye contact.
Our starter was very small and expensive for what it was (crab and lobster pot)
My main course was linguine with king prawns and crab but was ‘swimming ‘ in tomato soup consistency not at all what we’d hoped for. We avoided ordering a dessert as we were afraid of more disappointment! As we left there was again no comment from the staff, a thank you would have been nice. The place is a potential goldmine but obviously managed poorly, a great pity.

2  Thank Nickyhake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for the review. I am sorry the visit was not up to your standard. All of our dishes are made to a specification set by head office. I will pass your feedback onto them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Such a fantastic place to spend a lunch time over looking the estuary . The service was excellent as was the food.The fish and chips were amazing chips to die for .So glad we came today

Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Very expensive and they do less like a baked apple for Apple sauce and leave carrots like they have just been pulled more money less work well if I was panting your house and couldn't be bothered to cut in and just painted over windows you would say something

Thank Peck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

What a great find. Firstly the rooms are large and open with carefully placed seating. Large picture windows give superb views over the water. Staff were friendly , helpful and knew what they were selling and were able to offer advice. Now for the food. Finally a restaurant that thinks out of the box and offered interesting and different dishes as well as old favourites. We had the lobster /crab pots to start which were very tasty indeed and had a good amount of crab in them sealed with butter. Next for me was a seafood linguini which had a super kick of chili to brighten it up. I could not fault this restaurant in any way and the bill was not excessive either. If you are reading this Coombe cellars; well done!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LaTertraie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review we are really glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Beautiful setting on a warm evening. Food good, staff great, lovely bar/restaurant area. Very dog friendly which is a big bonus on top of everything else that is right with this place. Can’t remember particular names of staff so I’m guessin as they were all fab, they all get a fiver bonus!!!

1  Thank Dillon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for the review, this means I can pick my favourite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coombe Cellars also viewed

Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Bishopsteignton, Devon
 
Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 

Been to Coombe Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing