We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic old fashioned pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crags Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crags Hotel
Ranked #23 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic old fashioned pub!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Don't be fooled by the name, it's a dead set classic pub. Great rooms, great feed, great company, and then a damn good breakfast to boot. Alex, the bossman, top bloke that can spin a yarn or two. Callander itself is a great town and the pub is on the main drag so easy walking distance for everything, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel if you like it quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hootee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    83
    20
    14
    19
See reviews for
49
120
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Difficult to know where to start to heap praise on what from the outside looks such an unassuming hotel.
From the moment you step over the threshold the warmest welcome awaits you from Vikki, co-owner with her husband, Alex. The warm welcome does not stop with the lovely owners.
With Alex and Vikki's theatrical and film background it would not be hard to imagine that they have hired a cast of highly talented character actors, with the emphasis on 'character' and daily stage one of the world's most hilarious improv shows ever to grace the footlights.
But no...after a few drams and intense interrogation of the 'cast' they all turn out to be genuine, warm hearted, extremely....extremely witty, fabulous people and human beings from the town of Callander. and not members of Equity at all.
We never stopped laughing...and they bought us drinks as well! Amazing!....and Amazing is also the word that describes dinner in the restaurant, where every inch of wall space is covered with quirky paintings and pictures, each trying to out do each other for Best Quirky Picture Prize.

We had dinner on both nights of our stay having previously planned to eat at the expensive restaurant in the town on the second night but after being seduced by the subtle flavours of the Lamb Tagine and the wonderful sea bass on our first evening and the friendly, professional service the decision to eat at Crags Hotel a second time was a fait accompli.
After a great night's sleep in a really comfy bed, breakfast was yet another treat in store for us. It was perfect....which about sums up our stay. We will return!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Travelling with 3 kids under the age of 10, we were very happy to find accommodation where we could all stay together. We had 2 rooms with an interleading bathroom. Everything very clean and comfortable, somewhat dated, but full of character. We didn't notice any noise from the bar below.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstenLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
430 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We planned a holiday with a trip enjoying the entire Loch Lomond area. We scanned Tripadvisor and carefully chose The Crags as our stopping point; it was the best rated in the middle of the areas we wanted to visit. We were pleased with our choices; it was the busiest B&B/hotel in the area and quite full but rightly so- comfortable, spacious rooms, nice service, lovely breakfast. The bar was indeed noisy until a little after 9pm on a weeknight, but that was a minimal concern. It was unusually hot weather and I wished the room had a fan, but it was a very small concern. Thrilled to have internet and decent speed to check email. We had a good night's rest and the following morning enjoyed breakfast. The chef (the proprietess) we met was lovely and made delicious porridge. After breakfast we had a hike to a nearby set of falls (lovely) and we came back, packed up, used the toilet and brushed our teeth and were on our way. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well, what to say about Crags hotel?! It is essentially an inn with some rooms and that is what it is good at. Yes, there was some noise from the bar below (particularly at close of bar), the room was ok (although pretty tired eg a small piece of card holding the wardrobe door closed, holes in bed cover) but the breakfast was very good and when we met the owners on checking out, he seemed very pleasant and was helpful enough to give advice on attractions to visit. My main gripe is over the value of our stay. Unfortunately we stayed during the Commonwealth games and therefore there was a huge demand for beds in the region. As a result this hotel (together with every other one in the area, I'm sure), were able to raise their prices. We paid £130 per night for a room that was not worth £130 per night in my opinion. Had we paid the rate advertised on the website, I'd have been happy enough but I feel it wasn't great value for our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reesnewinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is small and has some caricature, The owners are very keen and welcoming and nothing is too much for them to help you have a good stay. The building is old and shows signs of it's age but this adds to the quirky nature of the town. Food is good and portions are healthy, all produce is sourced locally and fresh.Rooms are clean and depending on the room have individual furniture.The Pub is very old and the locals are friendly and it is a great place to relax after a day exploring the locks.

Room Tip: Room 8 is above the PUB and can be noisy at weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesh0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fantastic place to stay, clean, comfortable and the food was excellent. The staff and locals were warm and friendly. Really good base to explore the area. We will definitely be back for more of that Scottish charm!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Inn
The Old Rectory Inn
#12 of 35 in Callander
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#6 of 8 in Callander
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crags Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crags Hotel

Property: Crags Hotel
Address: 101 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crags Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crags Hotel is a small, family run Scottish Inn. It has a lively and very friendly public bar, excellent restaurant and recently refurbished rooms. All of the rooms have brand new and extremely comfortable beds and all are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Crags Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crags Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing