We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good!”
Review of Crags Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crags Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We had looked foward to our stay in the Crags Hotel after having booked many months in advance. We chose a room which was described as clean and cosy. It was neither! We wouldn't have minded the dated decor, as warned on the website, or a small room, but what we weren't warned about was the musty smell, the grime in the shower, and the stains on the carpets and bed covers. I would just like to comment that most of the other rooms have been updated, and it was a shame this room was not to the same standard.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank muzzaEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Crags Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2009

If you're in the area, just stay at The Crags Hotel in Callander, it's so full of character. The owners were very welcoming and friendly - and owners baby did nothing but smile at us!
We had a slap up meal, nicely flavoured, on arrival and stayed in a lovely four-poster bedroom - very comfy. Breakfast was so good I had to find out where the wonderful black pudding came from and my husband had the local kippers. Interesting shops each side and the Crags pub is nice and friendly with good locals. Certain areas such as the car park could do with some modernisation but we gather this is in hand. All in all a lovely stay.
Anne Church.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gretawessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

This hotel is a friendly, family run, unfussy place to stay for great value. Our room was newly furnished to an extremely comfortable standard. The owners of the hotel were generous with their time and nothing was too much trouble. The bar downstairs was lively and very friendly and seemed popular with the locals which we saw as a really good sign. They had a new chef when we were there who was absolutely excellent. We were really impressed with the food. We ate in the hotel several times and every meal was delicious and cooked to a high standard.
The local area is really stunning. The owners directed us to a local beauty spot for a picnic which we had to take a little boat service to get to. It made for a relaxing day out in a lovely location.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Crags Hotel. We felt it was the friendly owners and their young family who made it a happy stay. Thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We received such a warm welcome from the proprietors of this hotel on our arrival and they both endeavoured to ensure our stay was enjoyable and comfortable.
The newly re-furbished room was cosy and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and the general atmosphere within the hotel was both relaxed and hospitable.
The newly appointed chef produced a delicious menu with absolutely gorgeous food which made eating out as a vegetarian a pleasure.
The bar was friendly and vibrant with locals choosing it was their preferred drinking establishment.
Under the same management, it would be a pleasure to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

My boyfriend and I were looking for a short break away together before he left to work abroad for the summer. The crags proved to be the perfect venue. Our room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The owners were very wecoming and answered any questions we had. The food the hotel provided was of a good standard there was a variety of options at breakfast and dinner was very enjoyable, especially the crumble! I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit callender and the beautiful scenery surrounding it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed in room 5 (top floor and obviously newly refurbished) for 3 nights May 20-24th. The hotel has a good location but the car park is tucked away at the back and is easy to miss. Our room was a good size and so was the bathroom. Both were spotless and the bed was comfortable. The hosts Victoria and Alex were friendly and helpful and dealt with queries immediately.
I also would have thought the staircase carpet to be old - perhaps an unfortunate choice of colour/pattern. There was no tourist information , it was 'in the mail' but some could easily have been obtained from the tourist info centre down the street until it arrived. Our room was very hot (and apparently others were cold) even allowing for the exentricities of systems in older places this needs to be addressed as does the noisy plumbing.
The tables in the bar and resteraunt were sticky and it was not because they had not been cleaned. Perhaps the cleaner used is not the best for the surface? Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Twice it was good (especially the haddock hubby had) but once it was dry and it did not really inspire you to have dinner there.
The hosts are trying hard to get this place up to scratch and should be able to do so given another year or so.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keenvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

when we arrived at the crags 3.30 on saturday afternoon the only member of staff on duty was a barman who was looking after customers watching cupfinal. he hurredly showed us up to top floor room and said that someone would sort us out later and left. we have been travelling round Scotland for 8days and all the accomodation was 3 or 4* this room could not even pass as a one there was a very bad odour from the ensuite. the bedroom was very small no room to move just adouble bed even though we were booked into a triple room.We went downstairs and explained that the room was unacceptable the barman tried to contact owners but could not get through .We expalained that we would go to tourist information and book somewhere else before it was too late and come back and let him know.by the time we got to tourist information there was no availability left so we were offered some in Aberfoyle which we accepted.We returned to hotel and explained this. the barman said the owners would not be around for 2hours but had agreed that we would get a refund we said we would return the next day.on our return we requested a refund from the owner to be told this was not possible .We explained about our dissapointment in the room and that we were booked in a triple room to be told that he d given that to someone else who need 3 beds and the room was only the same size.we again requested a refund and explained that we did not think this was a 3* to be told that there is adifference between staying in a pub and a hotel thought this was a hotel at this point his wife said for us to be given our money back but was refused again. He then went on to say that the room was no longer being offered out as it was not up to standard and the cook was sleeping in it so why were we not contacted the booking was made in january.We suggested that we would try to recover the money through legal channels eventually we were given a refund.When I suggested that it would be better if there was someone available when guests were booking in who was in charge I was told that "dont you think were entitled to time off" yes I do as long as someone else there knows whats happening. after just reading comments from HJ Stafford it mirrors exactly what we felt .we were even told that he had given other people refunds because they were dissatisfied so whhy continue t o let the room a quick email would have solved the problem

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Inn
The Old Rectory Inn
#12 of 34 in Callander
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 34 in Callander
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crags Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crags Hotel

Address: 101 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: £60 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crags Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crags Hotel has been taken under new management as of the middle of June 2017, we are very excited to make the place our own and to welcome our new and returning guests. The hotel is located in the heart of Callander, which is surrounded by stunning scenery and historic Scottish landmarks. At the moment, the restaurant is open for breakfast for hotel guests, but we hope to have it open during the day and into the evening in the very near future. If you are looking for somewhere with lots of character, a warm welcome and friendly locals, the Crags is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crags Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crags Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing