We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Ciro's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a great Italian, very unexpected but so wonderful to experience, was so good we went back the very next day!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    107
    36
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Slow service, strange yellow chicken in pasta and on pizza that is apparently marinaded in turmeric and paprika whether you like it or not! Thought we were playing it safe with an Italian but found other staples in town to be better

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pgrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cirillociro, Owner at Ciro's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
thanks for your review and i am sorry you did not enjoy.
As for the slow service, i think when is 50 people coming in any restaurant almost all toghether with no reservation, is almost impossible to be quick for any restaurants.
Just to remind you that we are not a Mcdonald.
As for the marinated chicken in the pasta and on the pizza, i can assure you that we are using paprika and turmeric or may be you are just used to eat frozen and bolied chicken on a pizza somewhere else.
in 8 years that is the first bad comment on our best selling pasta dishes.
Anyway i hope we did not ruin your holiday and i will not change my marinated receipe.
Regards
Ciro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Level Contributor
222 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Italian Food in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were out walking looking for a place to eat. An elderly couple overheard us as we walked by them and they stopped us to recommend this family owned place. It couldn't have been a better idea.

The food and service is outstanding. We started with Olvie Mediterrane, Olio & Balsamico as an appetizer and a bottle of Malbec. The starter was olives and they were served on ciabatta bread with olive oil and balsamic for dipping. For my main course I chose Spigola Alla Caprese Con Gamberoni which is the sea bass. It has prawns and tomatoes and a small rocket or arugula salad. The bass melted in my mouth...so good. For dessert we chose two for the table...Tiramisu and Profitterols. The first was delicious and as expected. The profitterols were ok. The girls said they have had better ones here in the states and in Italy.

We thank the elderly couple, where every they may be, who pointed us in the right direction for dinner that night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahL428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sea Bass is delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by the owners of the hotel we stayed at. We went quite early while the restaurant was still quiet but the atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant. We ordered the sea bass and a pasta dish, the portions were huge and the ingredients appeared to be very fresh! We were however a little confused about the 2 main meals for 1 between 5-6 pm that our hotel owners told us about as it was not mentioned to us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty,friendly, good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Ciro's was recommended by a local and we weren't disappointed. Very welcoming staff. Food really tasty and lots of it. We were very early diners so not much atmosphere but that didn't matter. Lovely,local woman was warm and friendly making us very welcome and comfortable. A good local restaurant making a real effort at good tasting food above the average pasta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aoh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciro's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Ciro's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing