We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent. So friendly. Nothing is too much.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annfield Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Annfield Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent. So friendly. Nothing is too much.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed here with my husband and a few friends for a wedding in Callander. Even from the time of booking, the reception that we received was friendly. The couple that run the B+B (Mac and Ania) were very welcoming on arrival and had even arranged for gluten free biscuits in our room for my husband who has coeliac disese. The rooms were cosy, with LCD tvs and ample furniture for storage of clothes etc. Our room had a balcony and a view of Ben Ledi ( the Munroe that overlooks the town of Callander). The rooms were cleaned daily and tea and coffee etc stocks replenished.
The guest house itself is lovely, just set back off from the main street in Callander. There is a guest lounge that has treats such as sherry and choclates for guests to enjoy.
The breakfasts were lovely and the most impressive thing by far is that at breakfast time Mac is able to cook 8 poached eggs to perfection at the same time. No hint for a hard yolk.
The cost of our room was £60 per night for a double room with a shared bathroom. I think that is incredibly reasonable for such excellent service in a beautiful house ( AA 4 stars).
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
305
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I came accross Annfield in a quiet side street away from the traffic noise of the Main Street yet less than 100 yds from the centre.Ania and Mac are wonderful hosts offering tea and coffee in the very elegant lounge on arrival and making you feel immediately at home, the room is furnished with taste and every comfort is taken care of including spring water and other little thoughtful extras there is even complimentary sherry ect. in the lounge.
The bed was the most comfortable in my three weeks in Scotland. Breakfast was indeed a highlight of my stay and the choice of fruit cereals and freshly squeezed juice followed by a great choice of cooked options with great quality produce would put most 5 star hotels to shame. Annfield offers great quality and great value.I would not hesitate to recommend and we look forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaquita81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Annfield Guest House during a wedding weekend and were not disappointed. The House is set off the main road and is very quiet but only takes a minutes walk before you are in the main strip which makes it very convenient.

Mac and Ania made us feel very welcome giving us plenty of local advice on our first evening out in an unfamiliar area. The room we stayed in was large and spacious with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was also plentiful with a great slection of fruit and and a nice full Scottish to follow
Overall a very good option and far better than some of the shabby looking Callander hotels

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlondeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Super B&B in an excellent location and there is nothing I could fault!
Location: Perfect for wandering into Callander and exploring the Trossachs in Scotland
Rooms: Perfect, comfy, clean and well resourced with towels and little extras like choc's each day
Staff: Highlight of the stay as they were friendly, accommodating, personable and willing to advice us e.g. on where to eat. On receipt of the info that it was my Mum's 70th birthday, they forwarded a card and box of chocolates. Advice and information along the way re. our proposed activities.
Other: Living room areas for the evening were nice for all of us to get together. I would certainly recommend this B&B and, if presented with the opportunity, return :-)

Room Tip: Mum's 'Little Green Book' of reputable B&B's is a very useful thing to have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LALessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My sister June and I, stayed at the Annfield Guest House for two nights. Wish it had been more. Wonderful B & B. The cleanliness, the hospitality, the deliciuos breakfast were all outstanding. I will be back!
Sheila Borg.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shebo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Finding this B & B was a lucky accident as we had not planned our stay in Callander in advance. It was by far our favorite and I wished we could stay longer just to have one more night in this lovely home. While it is labeled a guest house, it did feel like home and Ania and her husband Mac made us feel very welcome and were very helpful regarding the town and surrounding area. This was an older home that had been re-done with all the modern amenities. We shared a bathroom with one other room but it was right across the hall from us and it was HUGE, which is rare in most B&B's. The rooms (and bathroom) were impeccable, the bed comfortable, the view wonderful, the breakfast delicious. It was less than a block to the main street but was very quiet. It was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambi049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We toured around England and Scotland for 3 weeks and this was the best B&B we experienced. There were certainly other very good ones, but this was the complete experience. The service, the food, the room and the bathroom were all excellent. The house is beautiful and interesting, and Ania and Mac are perfect hosts who can't do enough to make you feel welcome and really at home. The house is perfectly situated just off the main street and has off-street parking.
There are simply no negatives!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annfield Guest House

Property: Annfield Guest House
Address: 18 North Church Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Guest House dating from 1875.Quietly situated in the center of Callander.Provides a fantastic base for discovering the Loch lomond and Trossachs National Park and further afield.Highly rated by Visit Scotland . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annfield Guest House Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing