We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food experience was terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Valderrobres, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food experience was terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We visited Callander on our way back home from Aberfoyle. we stopped in The Weaverly hotel for dinner. It was terrible. The worse meal I have had by far. I would not recommended it all. We decided to go for Mothers Day special. £16.50 for a starter, main and a pudding. Good price we thought, but it was awful. The starters were dissapointing but the main was un-edible. What sounded good on the menu was nothing more that fried or half roasted green peppers (bitter) with pastry and a little egg. I can eat nearly anything but I could not really have my main. My merangue also had a funny taste. I felt robbed. I would have not paid more than £10 for my meal. I cannot comment on room quality but as a food place it is not recommended. It looked more like a place for drinking. The beer selection looked very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soniafm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    46
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
28
80
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here with my mum overnight as a treat for mothers day and it was brilliant. Staff were great room was spacious with separate sitting area. Room was light and very clean. Had evening meal which we were very pleased with and the breakfast was plentiful with plenty options.

Room Tip: Room 2 which has separate sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Yet again we find ourselfs in the Waverly Bar..And again made most welcome.Staff attentive and most pleasent..Always a good atmosphere within...The fact that the bar was busy,made no difference to the service,which was very good.This bar does good coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stopped in here to have a pub dinner, was expecting typical pub grub but to be honest we got a lot less.
I ordered mac and cheese and my boyfriend ordered a burger and chips. Mac and cheese was barely edible tasted as if it was powdered cheese from a pack ( no home cooked food here) and for me that is simply not good enough for almost £10 a plate. Garlic bread that came with it was tasty but exceptionally greasy. My boyfriends burger was a frozen one, a bit of a letdown considering the price per plate.
On the plus side it had a nice sort of local charming atmosphere and the staff were lovely and very friendly.
Would not return due to the poor food though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just returned from a few nights stay over New Year. This is the 3rd time we have visited and this hotel gets better every time.
Great food, staff, atmosphere and location. Rooms are well equipped, clean and tidy. The owners are fantastic and offer a warm welcome.
I'll be back there in a couple of months without doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We popped in here for a coffee with our dog. Coffee was wonderful. Lovely pub with very nice dining area. Good prices too. Bar staff was very friendly. I would definitely go here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions, I had the pleasure of staying in the family suit it is a amazing great big room plenty space, well decorated bathroom, clean and fresh, their double rooms are clean fresh too well maintained, linen was clean and faultless Breakfast was plentiful lots to chose and endless cups of tea, nice breakfast room looking out to main road, there wasn't much staff around you have to look for them if needing something, help full tho, will be staying again soon, prices are good value for the service and room you receive, parking is on the street across from the hotel

Room Tip: Family room is very spacious, its like a wee self contained flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crags Hotel
Crags Hotel
#23 of 35 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 88-94 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing